Weigh Down Workshop II

Is there a Trinity?

((aNNa’S NoTe:  I wrote this blog in 2002, and have since been shown that I was wrong.  I don’t admit to being wrong often, so I’e had to re-write the blog… so what you read below isn’t ‘assumption’ and weak argument any longer, but Truth.))

Is there a Trinity?  I always believed there was.  Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.  Ice-Water-Vapor.  Eggshell, yolk, and white.  Three in one.  And while the Bible doesn’t  use the word “Trinity”… there are verses that make it utterly clear that there is more than one representation of God.  Jesus Christ *is* God.  The Holy Spirit *is* God.  And there are verses to back that up:

John 10:30  I and my Father are One.

John 1:1  In the beginning was the Word ((Jesus)), and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. 

John 8:57-58 ”You are not yet 50 years old, and you seen Abraham!” The Jews said to Him.  “I tell you the truth,” Jesus answered.  “Before Abraham was born, I AM!”  ((In the Old Testament God always called Himself “I Am” Exodus 3:13-14))

Genesis 1:26  Then God said “Let us make man in our image ((not images)) and our likeness ((not likenesses)) and let them rule over the fish of the sea and the birds of the air…

John 14:7-8  If you really knew me, you would know My Father as well.  From now on, you do know Him and have seen Him.  Philip said “Lord, show us the Father, and that will be enough for us.”  Jesus answered, “Don’t you know me, Philip?  Even after I’ve been among you for such a long time?  Anyone who has seen Me has seen the Father.”

John 14:17-18, 23  Even the Spirit of Truth, whom the world cannot recieve, because it seeth Him not, neither knoweth Him: but ye know Him; for He dwelleth with you, and shall be in you.  I will not leave you comfortless: I will come to you.  Jesus answered and said unto him, If a man love Me, he will keep My words: and My Father will love him, and we will come unto him, and make our abode with him. 

So I do not argue that God is not more than one person.  And these verses just validate God’s being Jesus and the Spirit – I didn’t include the OT or Revelation manifestations of God… which include one of the men who appeared to Abraham before the destruction of Sodom, the pillar of fire/cloud, the burning bush, the man who wrestled Jacob in Genesis 32:30…  Which brings us to the question… is God ONLY three in one?  Obviously not.  There are more verses than I can list to attest to it (I’ve mentioned a few examples just now, already!)  Therefore, God cannot be *JUST* a Trinity.

Whoa, does that raise up some problems for people?  I had a friend ask me how I could say there isn’t a ‘trinity’ in light of 1 John 5:7-8.  Here are the verses she referenced:

For there are three that bear record in Heaven, the Father, the Word, and the Holy Ghost; and these three are one.  And there are three that bear witness in earth, the spirit, and the water, and the blood, and these three agree in one.”

Well, come to find out, that verse isn’t even in the original Greek manuscripts – it’s something the KJV people ADDED to the Bible to make it validate a Trinity… that the Bible *didn’t* ever validate.  The actual verses say, “For there are three that bear record, the spirit, and the water, and the blood, and these three agree in one.”  And what does that say?  Where is the mention of God the Fathe rand the Son?  It’s not there any longer.  Further… I have to point out the obvious.  The verse says that spirit, blood and water bear record… and I completely agree.  But are those three the ONLY things that bear record?

Psalm 19:1 – The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament showeth his handiwork.

Just in that *one* verse alone, two more bear record – the heavens and the earth, as well as the waters, the blood, and the spirit.  Now we’re up to five.  So is God just three anywhere in scripture?  NO.

Is there a Trinity?  Here’s my answer:  I can’t say they aren’t three in one.  I believe in the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit.  What I *CAN* say without a doubt is that the Bible doesn’t limit it to three in one.  Due to the OT and Revelation references to spiritual manifestations of God that don’t fit in the ‘three’… so God very well could be the three in one and at the same time the four in one, the seven in one, and the 12 in one.  Yes, God is manifest in the Father, the Son, and the Spirit, but we have to remember that He’s undefinable, and therefore unlimited.  If he’s not limited to space, time, or any of the dimensions we are familiar with, who can say?  And who dare say… other than the ‘c’hurch… which seeks to put God in a box, rather than let Him reveal Himself to them.  If He’s limited to three because of man’s creed, man has just cut himself off from anything beyond that.  Would that not be taking away from Truth?

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

