On Getting Angry

There are a few things I have been EXTREMELY convicted to talk about this morning.  And I’m going to make some folks more than a little upset, but something has to be said. I guess I get to be the lucky one to do it.  Again.

First of all, this isn’t directed at the majority of my readers.  Most of you have no idea what SN even is, and therefore will wonder what the heck is going on.  Well, what is going on?   There’s yet another war here on Xanga between the mommies I met on a certain pregnancy board known as SN.

Anger.  Did you know the Bible condones anger?  It does!  It tells us to be angry when we see sin going on.  When we see stuff that isn’t right happening under our noses.  It doesn’t say “be a peacemaker and ignore it by walking away”, although peacemaking has it’s place.  (That verse is directed at people who rage for no reason, not people who see sin and react.  Too many Christians use that verse as an excuse to be wimpy.)  Jesus certainly didn’t walk away when He saw men with dishonest scales selling goods in the temple!  The Bible says He was IRATE when the disciples wouldn’t let the children come to Him.  Paul writes in Ephesians 4:26, “In your anger do not sin…” but did you notice it doesn’t say “Anger is sin, don’t get angry.”???

I am SO GLAD I’m not in on the “dirt” on this one.  As far as I know, it’s the same doggone fight that was raging last August about who was e-mailing who’s husband and making passes at him.  Or something.  I don’t know… this one seems to have re-lit itself because of a mother who posted that since she can’t control her toddlers temper tantrums, she throws water in his face.  Everything is pulled and covered up, so I dunno.

What I do know is that there have been anonymous e-mails, lurkers, stalkers, people “warning” girls about each other, message boards so vile to have been closed down by the servers, and other ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS things… especially with a healthy helping of Christians in the mix.  What kind of testimony is this?  You’re behaving as badly as SandiLyn did when she passed judgement on Beth and kicked her out of HTH, when it was none of her business and was handled totally unscripturally.  (As far as I know ‘vengence is Mine, I will repay, thus says the Lord.’  And the dusting off your feet in Matthew 18 is for people who sin against YOU, not who sin against others or God.  SL was TOTALLY out of line on that one.  Instead of encouraging and uplifting, SL booted her.)

At any rate, I’m not saying you can’t be angry when someone passes judgment on you.  I’m not saying that when you see people slinging mud you can’t get upset.  What I AM saying is that there are things we are called to do, and they aren’t getting done.

What are we called to do? First of all, our very existance is so that we can BRING GLORY TO THE NAME OF GOD AND HIS SON.  I have seen the word “Christian” used in such a way as to pierce someone else.  Used in an post side by side with the author calling someone a ‘whore’.  What does that tell nonnies about us?  That we’re a group they want to belong to?  I think not!

We are to LOVE EACH OTHER AS WE LOVE OURSELVESYes, that includes the elusive Laurie-Ann.  That includes Beth and Robin and Jen.  That includes Steve and Kelly.  Jesus said that’s the greatest commandment.  Who are you trying to fool by claiming to follow Him and breaking His number one request?  No one.  Not a soul.  This goes for all who are spewing venom at each other.

We are told that when a sister in Christ (or brother, since this includes men) is in sin, we are to uplift them up in PRAYER and ENCOURAGE THEM.  “Therefore encourage one another and build each other up.”  I Thessalonians 5:11.  Let me ask you this… how many of you on-lookers are seeing much encouraging?  I thought as much.  It’s so so sad.  What are you DOING!?!?!

There is an obvious problem.  I don’t know what it is, I don’t know how twisted it’s gotten (from what I’m reading, it’s pretty durn twisted!)… and it’s not my business, so don’t feel I need ‘enlightening’, k?  I’m just looking at a problem that is affecting dozens of people, and painting some pretty shoddy pictures of the beliefs I hold dear to.  And I don’t like it.

Another verse that TOTALLY says what the Christian should do in a mess like this is: ‘Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, with whom you were sealed for the day of redemption. Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.’ (Ephesians 4:29-32 NIV)

Did you get all that?  Don’t talk crap about people, no matter what they did to you.  If they have troubles, help them, don’t bash them.  If they’re warped, they need your prayer, not your condemnation and lip.  Don’t be malicious, be compassionate.  There are obviously some sick puppies around here.  They need your compassion, not your finger-pointing and fact-flapping.

Ephesians 4:26 has more to say about anger‘Do not the sun sun set on your anger.’  In essence, HASH IT OUT AND MAKE IT RIGHT.   It’s fine to get ticked, but it needs to be resolved.  And if you do the orange things above, it should bring about resolution in a way you can’t even imagine.

Now I’m no saint.  I have some pretty deep issues of my own, in case you didn’t notice ((ahem… SL and SN and others…)) if I can work on resolving them, so can you.  And I think we need to think about these things, reflect on our hearts, and make some decisions.  Are we standing for what’s right?  Are we handling it in a manner pleasing to the Lord?  Are we working towards resolution?  Just give it some thought, k?

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

