Conscious Habits

((And not Tozer this time.  I don’t stick to *just* Tozer, although I’m working thru his stuff right now.  I also do ‘My Utmost for His Highest’ as a devotional and OT (half a book a week) for Bible Study, and then whatever I happen to read NT on my own… and I need to get back into the Rev groove again…))

Today is from Oswald Chambers.  It was from yesterday’s MUfHH…
and it REALLY made me smile.  ((LoL, even!!))

When we begin to form a habit we are conscious of it.  There are times when we are conscious of becoming virtuous and patient and godly, but it is only a stage; if we stop there we shall get the strut of a spiritual prig.  The right thing to do with habits is to lose them in the life of the Lord, until every habit is so practised that there is no conscious habit at all.  …Your god may be your little Christian habit…  ((Anna-added emphasis))

This is SO exactly what I was talking about here on Xanga.  It’s a trend that has been bothering be BIG TIME for a long time, but I didn’t know how to ‘word’ it.  The peeps who post ‘christianly’ things around here are SO CONSCIOUS of becoming virtuous and patient and all those 1 Corinthians ‘Love is…‘ things… it’s not just a stage for them, it’s almost as if their obsession isn’t in glorifying God, but the perpetual act of ‘becoming something’.  And Chambers says that if we keep it at that, and don’t move past it, we shall get the strut of a spiritual prig.  YeeeeeOuch.  His words, not mine… but I’ll admit to hooting, because it is SO TRUE.

And I’ll admit – I have spent times trying to ‘become something’ for the Lord consiously… whether the hardside/softside stage, or whatever.  But as long as I didn’t stop there and keep at the whole ‘becoming something’ thang, I am not worshipping/obsessing over ‘Anna’s qualities’… and there’s more room for focus on God’s qualities.  Whoo-HOO!!

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

