Your God vs. My God

You’ve heard it a million times… “my God would never send anyone to hell”.  “My God is a loving God.”  “My God couldn’t be that cruel.”

That’s right. Your God couldn’t be that way.  Because he doesn’t exist.

I’ve been doing some interesting reading lately.  ((My Way of the Master book came!))  And it’s alot about the Ten Commandments… which I blew off  for most of my life.  *Gasp!*

No, seriously.  I was told in church (hehe) that the 10 Commandments weren’t meant for us to obey, because no one can really obey them, anyhow.  Everybody has lied, everyone has stolen, everyone has coveted… They were to show us how imperfect we are, and why there was ever a need for a Savior – Jesus Christ.  And don’t get me wrong, that’s a sound teaching… but not a complete one.  Because my reaction was, Oh.  Well, then, I can write those off… I know I’m not perfect, that’s why I accepted Christ’s gift of redemption.  Move on!

The problem is this sticky verse in Romans that says What shall we say, then?  Shall we continue in sin, that grace may abound?  God forbid!  How shall we, that are dead to sin, live any longer therein?  (6:1-2)  So if we are no longer in a sinful state, we shouldn’t be sinning.  Yes, we inevitably will, but we shouldn’t be willingly sinning.

And no, I’m not talking about legalism, so don’t give me that Then you shouldn’t say four-letter words, Anna! bullshit.  I’m talking about the commandments of God, not the additions of man.  I have my hands full with rules from the Book, thankyouverymuch.  Tangent, sorry.  Where were we?  Oh!  God.

Thou shalt not have any other gods before Me.

Do you know who God is?  I swear, I learn a little more about who/what He is everytime I open the Bible.  We just started Psalm (1-50) for our home study, and it’s AMAZING what it says about God, even just in the Psalms!  That’s not including the wrath-y books like Revelations.  Psalms are *supposedly* goodness n’ light, esteemed highly by the warm-n-fuzzy congregants of the modern church.  ((smirk))

But the Lord shall endure for ever, He hath prepared His throne for judgment.
And He shall judge the world in righteousness…
Then the earth shook and trembled, the foundations also of the hills
moved and were shaken, because He was wroth.
There went up a smoke out of His nostrils, and fire out of His mouth devoured

Let’s not kid ourselves… God is mighty.  He’s mighty big, mighty holy, and mighty powerful.  And He’s mighty sick of stoopidity… and moving closer day by day to ending the BS we got goin’ on down here.  And it’s not just coming wrath…  He’s sent bears to devour children.  He’s sent fire to devour whole groups of people.  He’s opened up the earth and devoured His OWN chosen people.  I’m mighty convinced that God isn’t a warm-n-fuzzy, passive God.

But there are people who believe it.  “Their God” isn’t that way.  Those were just stories to *scare* people into believing stuff.  “Their God” couldn’t send his own creation to eternal fire and misery.  And the reason ‘their God’ couldn’t do that is because it’s a different god than God is.  It’s a god they’ve created, that they’re comfortable with.  They believe what makes them feel good… they make another ‘version’ of ‘God’… but if it’s not God… it’s a false god.

Thou shalt have no other gods before Me.

It’s harsh, but it’s true.  We don’t all serve the same god.  Many of us make up a god that’s easier to stomach, easier to live under.  Christ never said being a Christian would be easy, or comfortable.  But He did say, if you love Me, keep My commandments.  And the ‘big 10’ are His… Him being God.  Funny how things work out…!  And by purposely having a false conception of God, we break another commandment… Ouch.

Now I’m not saying that God is unreasonable and vengeful and horrific… He is a God of mercy, and the Bible shows that time and again, too… but His mercy is reserved for those who serve Him and worship Him and esteem Him holy.  Considering some of the shit we do, we’re lucky He’s let us go this long… think of the abortions, the gay marriages, the blasphemy, the murder, the lies, the sacrilege… Yeaaaah, He’s most definitely merciful.  But He *cannot* let wrong go unpunished.  That is not the character of a ‘good’ or ‘holy’ or ‘righteous’ God.

And that is where ‘your god’ and my God part ways.  Because there is a day coming… and I plan to be wrapped up in His merciful redemption on that day.  How about you?

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

