Translation Troubles

I’ll be honest – I grew up on KJV, but that was because back in the ‘old days’, the other versions hadn’t caught on.  When I was a kid, KJV was just the commonly accepted version.  But by the time I hit college, I bought myself an NIV and did all of my study via comparison reading between the two versions.  I thought it was very helpful.  And when Brian became a Christian and I took him down to get his first Bible, I bought him an NIV.

You may have noticed that I’ve been frowning more and more at the NIV.  And some of you don’t like it.  But every time we have a home study, and I want to show them something I noticed in my readings, they can’t see it – because it’s not there.  It’s not in the NIV.

Last night was the breaking point for me.  I seriously had had it.  Everything that I saw that tied in beautifully and confirmed other scripture was GONE in the NIV.  Not because of omission, but because of shoddy wording that destroyed the picture I saw.  And I got mad.  Really, really mad.

Two weeks ago I had a prime example.  It was in regards to whether or not God created evil.  I was so excited, because this is an argument that a LOT of Christians have had.  Heck, even *I* posted that professor vs. student story about there being no such thing as evil – it’s only the absence of good.  When I saw this verse, I changed my stance completely:   I form the light, and create darkness: I make peace, and create evil: I the LORD do all these things.  Isaiah 45:7  I said, “Brian!  God did create evil.  It says so right here!!”  He looked at the verse in his NIV, and said, “I don’t see where it says that!”  So I checked:  I form the light and create darkness, I bring prosperity and create disaster; I, the LORD , do all these things.  Well, that certainly takes what enlightened me and tossed it right out the damn window… not so cut-n-dried in the NIV.  In fact, it’s not stated in the NIV at all.  What REALLY sucked is that I went on my message board a few days later, and they were arguing over whether God created evil or not.  ((shakes head))  Thanks, Wescott & Hort.  You really cleared up the KJV on that one, too.  NOT.

So I went last night, ready to share the end times clarifications of other scripture I found in Jeremiah 23.  I was SO GEEKED about it… until I tried to show them:  Therefore thus saith the LORD of hosts concerning the ((false))prophets; Behold, I will feed them with wormwood, and make them drink the water of gall: for from the prophets of Jerusalem is profaneness gone forth into all the land.  (vs 15)  I said, “Now look at Revelation 8:11 – a star called Wormwood will be sent to earth to contaminate the water.  Isn’t that amazing!?!”  They looked at me blankly and said, “our bible says it will feed them with ‘bitter waters’.”  ((pause))  Oh.  Well, I guess there’s no continuance in your Bible for that one, either.

So I thought I’d move on.  Verse 19:   Behold, a whirlwind of the LORD is gone forth in fury, even a grievous whirlwind: it shall fall grievously upon the head of the wicked.  The anger of the LORD shall not return, until he have executed, and till he have performed the thoughts of his heart: in the latter days ye shall consider it perfectly.  I said, “Turn to Ezekiel 1:4 – you’ll see the SAME WHIRLWIND sent to earth… and the same thing in Zechariah 6:1 and the description of this ‘whirlwind’ is the SAME as the 4 creatures at the throne in Revelations… and the colors are the same as the four horsemen of Revelation 6!”  They gave me that same look, and said “Ezekiel doesn’t say that.”  I had them read it to me:  I looked, and I saw a windstorm coming out of the north-an immense cloud with flashing lightning and surrounded by brilliant light. The center of the fire looked like glowing metal.”  Oh.  Well, screw me, I guess.  (((shrugs))   What can I say – I’m dillusional.  My Bible confirms itself, yours doesn’t.  Yeah, that’s a *better* translation.  Brian and N got a HUGE laugh out of it, because their version didn’t confirm any of my kewl points… and I did my mock huffing n’ puffing…

… But you know what?  That’s frightening.  I’ve attested many, many times here that the 1611 bunch that wrote the KJV spent up to 15 hours a day studying linguistics and history and ancient texts, devoting their LIVES to the most accurate version of the truth that could be.  They died for their faith in their work and in their Lord.  It’s the oldest version available to the public – think about it, it was written in SIXTEEN ELEVEN!!!  And it’s still viable and widely accepted as the Truth.  It’s literature is considered among the classics – flawless, beautiful, and divine.  And when I find these things, when the Lord links things together and shows me how books written literally centuries apart by people in different regions of the world can completely echo the SAME THINGS… and your ‘better’ version doesn’t have ANY of that… it scares me.  When I read exerpts of the biographies of Wescott & Hort and see them say things that contradict scriptural theology COMPLETELY, when I think that they were smug and ‘hated’ the Bible… I cringe.  And my mom says “You told me that those verses were taken out… they’re a footnote in my Bible!”  Oh yeah?  Is God’s word supposed to be a footnote?  Is that acceptable to you?  It’s not to me.

I don’t think the NIV is good at this point.  Not if it lacks so many things.  Too many things are coming to my attention that are choppy, unclear, or change the message completely.  I hate that EVERY SINGLE WEEK I’m having to hear “well, it’s not in MY Bible…!”  I don’t… I refuse… I… can’t think like that.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. mike stahulak

     /  May 25, 2014

    I just discovered your blog today… the Matrix line is exactly what I feel. I have focused on learning Hebrew, spiritual pictures of the salvation message in the Old Testament. The feast days are huge for a believer in Yahusha (ieusho). I use a bible version called the Besorah. Is it perfect? No, but it was done by not following KJV, NASB, NIV. Looking at the Original Hebrew and New Testament Greek and if you look at the Hebrew and Greek, it is a good translation. I was buying this version for friends willing to receive it. It is that important to have as good as a version as possible. From my Besorah version
    YESHAYAHU 45:7
    7forming light and creating darkness,
    making peace and creating evil. I,
    HWHY, do all these.’
    Nice work…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

