The Christ Offensive

That’s a tricky word, btw.  “Offensive”.  Language could be offensive  ((wink)).  But that’s not the kind of offensive I’m talking about today… I’m talking about like in sports… y’know?  Offensive rather on the defensive side.  Not that I have a CLUE about sports.  Don’t like ’em, don’t watch ’em, don’t play ’em.  But even a little blonde non-athletic housewife in the middle of Nowhere, Michigan knows the difference between ‘offense’ and ‘defense’.  Say you have the ball and are coming toward my side of the court.  I’m now on the defensive.  Then let’s say I have the ball and am heading towards your basket.  I’m on the offensive.

Having said that, I’m gonna apply it simply to spirituality.  Christ has the ball.  I’m on his team.  We’re headed toward the goal.  Am I on the offensive, or defensive?  Are you following?  Good.  ((grins))

Okay, now that we’ve established that, I want to get on my high horse.  The church?  Is on the defensive.  I have NO IDEA WHY, but they are.  ((Lower case ‘c’ in that church, btw.))  If a Jehovah’s Witness comes to the door of a Christian home, most Christchuns panic.  They know it’s not a sound faith, but they have NO IDEA why, and they are scared.  They aren’t prepared.  They freak out internally.  In the breakroom at work, conversation turns around to evolution.  Christchuns immediately go on the defensive.  They have to have an answer to protect their precious faith.  Because they don’t feel they know enough or might not be able to scientifically support their faith, they often avoid the conversation entirely.

Why do they do that?  I’m asking, because I read about these things a lot.  I don’t get it, but I see it.  This faith of ours?  It’s been around for about 5900+ years.  It doesn’t NEED us to defend it.  It’s supernatural, or it would’ve ceased to exist along with the other ancient faiths like Baalism and the like.  It’s stronger in force than any other belief system around, believed by more people and carried on with no change to the foundational truths it is based upon.  Why are we always feeling as if we don’t *have* what we need, when it’s more than blatantly obvious that WE DO!?

I’m not like other people.  If you haven’t figured that out by now, you won’t get it E.V.E.R.  I was sitting in the mall playland, watching the other ‘christchun’ moms with their little kids (and yeah, this is West Michigan, I can say pretty much without a doubt that the majority of the chickas there were Christchun.  Reformed, to be more specific).  I will never be like them, and they will never be like me.  The reason?  I’m offensive.

Yeah, ((smirk)) I know.  You already knew that.  I use 4-letter words.  I challenge the status quo.  I don’t depend on anyone (if I can help it) – not the school systems to teach my kids, not the media to give me my news, not the ladies of the community to keep me company, not the church to spoon-feed me doctrine.  I don’t need to worry about where the ball is, because (like I said) Christ is on my team.  He knows, and that’s enough. He gives me everything I need, and as long as I make use of those things He provides, I’m golden, dude.  I’m on the offensive.  I don’t have to worry about losing the game.

I wish more people were like that.  Seriously.  I’m SO TIRED of Christians who have all they need at their fingertips yet are too lazy to learn it, utilize it, make it theirs.  Then they’re scared and uncertain and wiggy over everything.  What is WITH that?  I’m just… yeah.  Talking out loud.  But do you see what I mean?

I have more to say, and I’m not even sure what I *have* said says what I’m trying to say, but today is Tuesday.  As in, Lydia’s dance class.  It’s also the day I’m watching N’s boys – so I’ll have five kids five and under, and won’t be back on for a while.  ((Pray for me – there are issues surrounding this task that are heavy.))  Anyhow… there’s my thoughts for the day.  Take care, see you on the flip side.

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

