The Distraction Deception

I have to write about something.  Something very important.  Something I was wholloped with this week.  And it’s the awareness of a great deception.  One that I’m typically on the ball enough to NOT fall prey to, but lately that hasn’t been the case.  And to be honest, even when I’m AWARE of it, it’s a HUGE battle.  It’s the Distraction Deception.

Oh, and it’s in your life, too.  Make no mistake, you’re either fighting it tooth and nail, or you’re (like I’ve been) immersed in it.  It’s the STUFF factor… only it’s not about having too much stuff.  It’s about looking out and not up, if you know what I mean.  And it is SO. EASY. to do.

I think Morpheus said it best, when describing The Matrix:  “The Matrix is everywhere. It is all around us. Even now in this very room. You can see it when you look out your window. Or when you turn on your television. You can feel it when you go to work. When you go to Church. When you pay your taxes. It is the world that has been pulled over your eyes to blind you from the Truth… 

Dirty dishes.  Biggest Loser.  Car crash.  New baby.  Dance class.  Bills.  Kid Cuddle Time.  Work.  Homeschooling.  What do they all have in common?  They’re things we deal with on a daily or weekly basis that are on this plane of existence.  And really, we can’t get away from them.  But when they shift your view from heavenly things to basal things, they are a threat.  To happiness, to joy, to peace.  Yes – cuddle time is a threat.  Home education is a threat.  It’s all temporal.

I know I sound radical to the nth and overly extreme, but if we are to be in this world and not of it, we should be aware of the difference between the temporal (in this world) and the eternal (not of it).  And that’s not something we’re ‘programmed’ to do.  We just don’t think about it on a regular basis.  We *should* think about it on a continual basis, but even psycho Anna lapses and suddenly finds herself overwhelmed with… well, LIFE.  There’s the new car, the sickness in the house, the snowstorm, the new insurance, the tax forms that need to be gathered, the repairs on the house, the chores, the obligations (work, school, dance, family), the fatigue… it all consumes us.  We’re called consumers, but really, the stuff around us – even when we DON’T buy, buy, buy! – it just suffocates.

And I go to an extreme, thinking, ‘Man, if I just got RID of stuff… if I pared down on the activities, on the purchases, on the internet surfing, on the projects around here…’  and I think about trashing things.  Just… get RID of it.  But does that help?  I mean, we’re gonna NEED that dictionary, even if right now it doesn’t get much use yet.  I may not use that blender on a daily basis, but it sure is DAMN handy when making a puree or split pea soup or something.  I could get rid of a lot of stuff, but you know that when you turn around, you’ll be needing it again.  It’s not that the stuff isn’t USEFUL… it’s just a LOT.  But it isn’t just the stuff that’s a LOT, either.  It’s… everything.

Maybe I’m weird.  Maybe you don’t think about this very often.  But it seems as though the distractions are both a curse and a blessing.  A curse in that, when I’m just getting closer in my relationship to Yahoveh, things pull me away.  Distracted by stress, by a car crash, by weight, by the economy, by a kid argument, by a poopy diaper running out a pantleg and onto my (BEIGE) carpet.  On the other hand, the distractions are a blessing, because they frustrate me, make me discontent with the way things are… which always shoots me right back towards Yah.  It’s crazy.  I know Yah would rather us NOT be distracted, to fall into the deception of this life being important… on the other hand, the thing keeps me from becoming complacent, too.

I’ve had a bout of distraction lately, where my eyes have been on THIS plane of existence.  You’ve probably noticed, eh?  Just… ONE. THING. AFTER. ANOTHER.  It’s been wild n’ crazy, with no sign of stopping.  And my first reaction is to say – NO!  Stop everything.  No more shopping, no more spending, no more clutter, no more activities, no more, no more, NO MORE!!  And yes, that really does help.  Staying home is good, not bringing in MORE distractions is superb, not overloading and bringing distractions on yourself is paramount.  But it’s not like you can get rid of food, of home, of family, of SOME things, y’know?

And it doesn’t seem HEALTHY to me to have this cycle… to lapse then shoot to spirituality, then lapse, then shoot back into deeper spirituality.  Wouldn’t it be far better just to keep a steady gaze upward rather than shifting our gazes from Heaven to Earth, to Heaven to Earth?  Or is that a pipe dream, not at all realizable?  Maybe we aren’t MEANT to have that kind of an experience until we’re OUT of the distraction zone.  I don’t know.

Just… thinking out loud…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

