Tsit-tsit

Image
I finally made the tzit-tzit I was wanting to do up!

I used embroidery floss in green for Yahoveh (who’s throne is like an emerald, and because green is in the middle of the Omer countdown and in the middle of the rainbow, etc), and red for the scarlet blood of Yeshua, and blue for… well, obedience (cuz we’re commanded to have a blue string running thru it) but to my mind, the blue is Rosh Ha’Codesh.  I also added black yarn, because I wear black almost constantly, the yarn gave it some body, and in addition, to my mind black is the unknown other entities that make up Adonai.  Not so much a subscriber to the concept of a trinity, personally, but that’s just me.

Anyhow, so how did it come together?  I cut pieces from my fingertip to my elbow in length, then got out a spatula with a round, rubber handle that was pretty small.  Then I used that to wrap my string around, and tied three knots.  Then wrapped the blue thread around all the others three times, then tied three knots.  Then wrapped the blue around three times, then tied three knots… and I did this until it was about the right length (I don’t know what that is, but it felt right).  Then I cut the strands even and, viola!  Tzit-tzit!

Now, I’ve written about this before (Survivalist Tzit-Tzit), but so’s you don’t have to go back and re-read, it comes from this verse:

And YHWH spoke to Mosheh, saying, Speak to the children of Yisrael, and say to them that they make fringes in the corners of their garments throughout their generations, and that they put upon the fringe of each corner a cord of blue: and it shall be to you for a fringe, that you may look upon it, and remember all the commandments of YHWH , and do them; and that you follow not after your own heart and your own eyes, after which you went whoring.  That you may remember and do all My commandments, and be qadosh/set apart to your Elohim.  I am YHWH your Elohim, who brought you out of the land of Egypt, to be your Elohim: I am YHWH your Elohim. Bemidbar/Numbers 15:37-41

So scripture says that we are to tie blue fringes (cords of blue) on our clothes, to remind us to be obedient.  But not only that – tying the fringes on isn’t just a reminder to be obedient, it’s an act of obedience, too!  When I saw this, particularly the ‘throughout their generations’ part (which means it doesn’t stop, ever)… well, I need to comply, don’t I?  To show my love for Him.  Doesn’t Yeshua say ‘If you love Me, keep My commandments’?  Yeah, that’s what I thought.

Why blue?

So the blue is like the blue in the heavens above—where the Word of YHWH ‘settled’.  More than that,  This blue cord also reveals to us the Messiah, who is called the Word made flesh, according to the article.  And where is the Messiah now? Is He not now exalted in the heavens above, seated at the Right Hand of the Father? He is! And remember the words of Paul in Colossians 3?  If, then, you were raised together with the Messiah, seek the things that are above, where the Messiah is seated on the right hand of Elohim. Set your mind on the things that are above, not on the things that are upon the earth. Colossians 3:1-2

And as to the tassels in the four corners of the garment?  Remember the woman who had an issue of blood and who could not get healed for 12 years in the NT?  That when the woman reached out and touched the border of His garment she was also healed? Well, we understand she touched one of the tassels in the four wings of His garment. But this is proof Yeshua was the Messiah, because in the prophet Malachi, it says the Son of Righteousness will rise with healing in His wings. Isn’t that amazing?

So anyhow, now I have Tzit-Tzit!  And it was SUPER easy and quick to make… now I just have to finish a belt to put them on…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Randy Webb

     /  June 4, 2017

    Awesome job, and testimony!! Praise Abba for His Truth being made known to His people who now come through the Only Open Door, Yahshua Ha Mashiach… Shalom🕎B’Yahshua…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

