The Latter Rains I

So yesterday when I was looking for information on constellations for my ‘Signs in the Sky’ post, I thought I’d see if there was a ‘meaning’ behind the double stars in Perseus.  I have NO IDEA what I typed in my search engine, but it brought me to a site that said that the rapture was going to be on October 25, 2010.  ((!!)) Ooookay.  Now WHY would they think that?  I don’t know of ANYTHING significant about October 25th at all.  It’s not a feast day, not a full/new moon… so WHY?  Because you know I’m a watcher, and if there’s something I’m not seeing… I’d kind of like to know why others are watching it.  If not out of morbid curiosity, then because it might have significant meaning that I need to know about.

The writer of the article started off by saying the Lord’s coming will be as the rain, and quoted Hosea 6:3 –

Then shall we know, if we follow on to know the Lord: His going forth is prepared as the morning; and He shall come unto us as the rain, as the latter and former rain unto the earth.

Now, a couple of things.  First, the church teaches that the ‘rains’ talked about in ANY verse with ‘former and latter rains’ in it refers to the outpouring of the Holy Spirit.  And while I can see their point, that’s a spiritual interpretation.  You know how Yehovah always seems to have a ‘reality of duality’ to His plans?  Well, I saw that ‘former and latter rains’ and thought REALITY OF DUALITY immediately.  So while it’s possible that the NT/spiritual explanation is the Holy Spirit, I can’t shake the idea that the ‘former and latter rains’ refer to something else – possibly physical – as well.

In regards to the verse, look at that first part.  We shall KNOW, but only IF we make an effort to know the Lord.  That’s interesting, in itself.  Second, she asserted that His going forth ‘as the morning’ was a reference to the ‘morning star’.  I don’t see that.  I’m not sure WHAT it means, and I know there are references to the ‘morning star’ in other places, but I think she’s off-base on that one.  But then it says He shall come ‘as the rain’ – the latter and former rain.  Former referring to Noah’s Flood, of course.

Then she said that the first rain that fell on the earth since Eden was at the Great Flood.  I hadn’t thought about that.  If the earth was covered around with a layer of water above and filled with a layer of water within, there wasn’t a NEED for rain, was there?  That’s something I’d never thought about before.  Is it true?  Of course we don’t know, but logically it stands to reason… and kind of took me by surprise.  Then she dug into the Great Flood:

“In the six hundredth year of Noah’s life, in the SECOND MONTH, the SEVENTEENTH DAY of the month, the same day were all the fountains of the great deep broken up, and the windows of heaven were opened. And the rain was upon the earth forty days and forty nights. In the selfsame day (Cheshvan 17) entered Noah, and Shem, and Ham, and Japheth, the sons of Noah, and Noah’s wife, and the three wives of his sons with them, into the ark”.   Gen 7:11-13

I said, “Whoa, wait, wait, wait!” when I read this.  Because didn’t Noah go into the ark seven days before the flood waters fell?  Here it says the SAME DAY Noah went into the ark, the waters fell.  So I had to go back to scripture and see:

For yet seven days, and I will cause it to rain upon the earth forty days and forty nights; and every living substance that I have made will I destroy from off the face of the earth.  And Noah did according unto all that the LORD commanded him.  And Noah was six hundred years old when the flood of waters was upon the earth.  And Noah went in, and his sons, and his wife, and his sons’ wives with him, into the ark, because of the waters of the flood.  And it came to pass after seven days, that the waters of the flood were upon the earth.  In the six hundredth year of Noah’s life, in the second month, the seventeenth day of the month, the same day were all the fountains of the great deep broken up, and the windows of heaven were opened.  And the rain was upon the earth forty days and forty nights.  In the selfsame day entered Noah, and Shem, and Ham, and Japheth, the sons of Noah, and Noah’s wife, and the three wives of his sons with them, into the ark;   Gen 7:4-13

I… owe you ANOTHER apology.  I’ve always read this as Noah going into the ark seven days before the flood.  I read that underlined part as being all together.  But now, looking at verse 13, it seems that’s not true, the one sentence is the end of the first paragraph/thought, and the second sentence is the start of the next.  Verse 4 says the Lord told Noah seven days in advance, and those were the days that he gathered the critters in.  Noah and his family didn’t go in until the day OF the Flood, did he?!  CRAP, I hate getting this stuff wrong.  Why isn’t anyone giving me verses like Gen 7:13 to set me straight?  I… ((deep breaths))

Okay.  Another new thing I’ve learned.  Lot was taken out on the same day as the destruction began, and Noah was taken out on the ‘selfsame’ day as the waters were released and the destruction began.  So that means that we’ll be taken out the same day that the wrath is going to be poured out.  Not seven days/years before.

Well THAT’S good to know.  ((grunt.))

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

