Tetrad and Trumpets

((Part 1 of 3: Biltz and Blather))

blood_moon-300x300

A long, long time ago, in a blogging community far away, I wrote three – count them three – posts about an idiot named Mark Biltz.  I just went and looked up what I’d written, and when I did that, it occurred to me that it’s highly unusual for me to bother devoting THREE blogs to an idiot… but then I remembered that when things happen in threes, it means you need to pay attention.  Which I wasn’t, but now am.

The first time I wrote about him was in late 2008.  I wasn’t impressed… because he was predicting the Second Coming to happen in 2014/15… and in order for him to believe that *AND* have a pre-Trib rapture stance, he’d have to have declared the Trib to have started in 2007.  Which, of course, he didn’t do.  Idiot.

Second time I wrote about him was in early 2009 (link dysfunctional, and I don’t care).  I just repeated the same nonsense again, because the crazy christians were buying everything the guy was saying, and it was driving me crazy.  So I had to point out why he was an idiot, again.  Then in late 2009, in response to a TON of Messianics jumping on the Biltz Boat, I wrote a third time, blasting the hell out of him.  Cuz people and their bandwagons…

Anyhow, for the sake of reminding you…

Mark Biltz is a pastor (I use the term VERY loosely) who logged onto NASA’s eclipse website and noted a rare phenomenon of four consecutive total lunar eclipses, known as a tetrad.  He says during this century, tetrads occur at least six times, but what’s interesting is that the only string of four consecutive blood moons that coincide with God’s holy days of Passover in the spring and the autumn’s Feast of Tabernacles (also called Succoth) occurs between 2014 and 2015 on today’s Gregorian calendar.

Biltz explained, “So then I looked at last century, and, believe it or not, the last time that four blood red moons occurred together was in 1967 and 1968 tied to Jerusalem recaptured by Israel.”  He then started to notice a pattern of the tetrads.  “What’s significant to me is that even before 1967, the next time that you had four blood red moons again was right after Israel became a nation in ’48, it happened again in 1949 and 1950 … on Passover and Succoth. You didn’t have any astronomical tetrads in the 1800s, the 1700s, the 1600s. In the 1500s, there were six, but none of those fell on Passover and Succoth.” 

Now here’s the issue I have with him (in addition to the pre-Trib conflict I’ve already mentioned, as if that wasn’t enough, on its own): You have FOUR blood red moons, and over a two-year span.  Okay… so what exactly is going to happen, and when?  The end doesn’t take two years in ANY version of scripture, and there isn’t even a two-year span of anything in Revelation.  And which lunar eclipse will ‘IT’ be on?  He’s got four to pick from.

Only he doesn’t.  Because he didn’t REALLY want to commit to anything, and so he’s thrown this ‘tetrad’ of blood moons out there, but hadn’t said what it’s going to symbolize or signal (possibly the Second Coming, in vague tones) or when, because he couldn’t commit to something and be wrong, and after all, it’ll come like a thief and we can’t know…  ((Oh, here we go with THAT again.))  You’ve just reverted from Messianic Judaism to chrischun indoctrination again.  Whoops.  And we should believe this…?

In addition, (as if all of THAT wasn’t enough), he says there were six tetrads in this century.  He says there was a tetrad in ’47/48 (Israel became a nation) and in ’67 (Isreal’s six-day war to expand borders), and then he says there was one in ’49/50… but shows that nothing happened, then.  It was like the 2014/5 one – all on feast days, so he says that’s significant, but nothing happened according to Blitz!  So was was so significant?!  And he doesn’t even mention the other two tetrads, because… there was absolutely nothing special about either of them!  Not on significant days, no historical events effecting Israel.  So he’s sweeping those under the carpet.

Now… I have to tell you.  This has come up again now, partly because we’re six months from 2014 – and because the Lord directed me to a blog that mentioned the upcoming tetrad, without bringing Biltz into the picture (thankfully), in order to remind me of this phenomena.  Here’s what this new (to me) blogger says:

A Tetrad of Blood Moons will occur during 2014 and 2015.  …What’s interesting is these four Lunar Eclipses (blood moons) will each occur on very important Jewish holidays. Passover 2014, Feast of Tabernacles 2014, Passover 2015 and Feast of Tabernacles 2015.  Furthermore, three additional astronomical events are scheduled during this Tetrad of Blood Moons. Two Solar Eclipses will occur; the first will happen during Rosh hoshanah 2015 (Jewish New year) and the second during Feast of Trumpets 2015. And this whole auspicious cycle is being kicked off with the flyby of Comet ISON during Hanukkah of this year.

((His graphic is too small – I hadda go find it elsewhere bigger))

2014-2015BloodMoons
((Better, but missing the comet.  We can’t have everything.  Moving on…))

…three previous Tetrad cycles that have occurred…

• 1493-1494, the Jews were expelled from Spain. This was a tetrad cycle.
• 1949-1950, the Jews as Israel became a nation. This was a tetrad cycle.
• 1967-1968, the Jews recaptured Jerusalem. This was a tetrad cycle.
• There have been four previous Tetrad cycles since 1 AD and after this 8th cycle it will not occur again for another 500 years.

I wonder what’s going to happen during this 8th cycle? Without digressing into a bunch of eschatological points that would require much more attention then this little blog is capable of supplying to its readers, this is an exciting astronomical event that doesn’t happen frequently.

Okay… but Israel became a nation in 1947/48, not 49/50, which was the ‘nothing’ tetrad.  Or was it?  Just because Biltz didn’t see anything, then… so I went looking.  Know what I found?  In 1950 there was a ‘Law of Return’ signed, allowing any Jews to come back to their homeland.  I’d say that’s a pretty significant event!  As if that weren’t enough, 1949 saw FOUR Armistice agreements signed.  Four being a number to geek about!

Not that this changes the problems with Biltz and the new blogger.  My first problem is that the site I hadda go find the better graphic at showed FIVE previous events (32-33, 162-163, 795-796, 842-843, and 860-861), so that would make this the ninth event, not the eighth.  Except that Biltz says there are “at least (??) six tetrads this century”, which would make fifteen?  Unless someone is severely screwed up, which easily could be.  I refuse to cite the other site… it references both Biltz and Hagee.  If I wanted to dip my toes in poo, I’d go out to the boy goat pen, thanks-but-no-thanks.  I might also add that no major events happened in those years.

So what do I think?  I think there’s a lot of misinformation, bypassed facts to get what they want out of this.  I’d say avoid all of these people and their speculation like the plague.  They’re not making sense, and not using logic.

BUT… having said, I’ve been shown something here,
that I need to tell you about.
Tomorrow.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. I have noticed something over the past few years…..when we are supposed to note something, the chrischun sites are quiet – they might mention it in passing, but when they go ga-ga, it’s nothing,

    So…I’m betting this is important. I don’t know why, but it means something, I bet.

    Reply
  2. I looked into the previous Tetrads before 1492, for any historical significance. In the 2nd century and the 8th and 9th centuries. Some interesting historical events that occurred during these Tetrads is that the successors of Charlemange established Germany, France and Italy. The Vikings established Russia, the Byzantine empire stopped the advance of the Muslims and the Vikings raided the monastery at Iona where the monks wrote the book of Kells. In the 2nd century, a Roman emperor dealt with the first of the Germanic barbarian invasions that began the eventual fall of the Roman empire.

    Reply
    • In regards to the comet ISON, a number of astronomical conspiracy buffs are claiming NASA is being evasive about this comet with its size and potential effects. Something about a potential CME, thr Comet mass ejection, possibly incorrect on this accronym will be potentially huge and have a negative affect on our satellite and power grids. They are still not sure if the comet will survive the pass by our sun so no consensus about this yet. But some are claiming this is a much larger comet then what NASA is claiming… We should know more about this previously unknown comet by October of this year. Regardless the perihelion (closest point to the sun) is on the first day of Hanukkah and this is when it starts giving off the largest amount of CME…

      Reply
  3. Rot now, the seemingly big thing in the chrischun arena (at least, the forums I hit – mostly HS’ing) is modesty. In that women are to blame for men sinning, unless they are properly and modestly dressed. I’ll keep my rant to my site…..but it’s gotten really weird out there.

    Reply
    • I hate chrischun homeschoolers. They give the rest of us a bad name. S’probly why I wear black and leather and high, high heels, and super red lipstick: so I won’t be confused with them. I just wish I hadn’t named my children Bible names. Should’ve gone with River, Rainbow, Leaf, Aspen, and Gale. ((Brian would have spontaneously combusted at the suggestions, though…))

      Reply
  4. Tracy

     /  July 7, 2013

    Hi Anna. Just wanted to let you know that eve though there are a lot of people who cite this guys name as BLITZ, it’s actually BILTZ. The L and I are often reversed. I’m in agreement with you but thought you might want to know. He pastors a so called Messianic congregation not too far away from me. If you want to confirm my information, you can go to http://www.elshaddaiministries.us/ Thanks for continuing to share with us.

    Reply
    • Makes sense, since a ‘blitz’ is a straightforward attack, and he ain’t got one. 😉 I’ll fix it. Thanks!

      Reply
  5. Most interesting point in this for me is the two-year span – hadn’t thought about that. I am curious what will happen with all of these signs in the heavens – the astronomical events over the next few years.

    Reply
  6. Robert Veklotz

     /  October 17, 2013

    You state that 32-33 AD are not significant dates. How about the crucifixion, death, and resurrection of Jesus Christ, the savior of the world. I’d say that was pretty significant!

    Reply
    • I never said that 32-33 weren’t significant dates, I said that Blitz *IGNORED* over half of the dates, including that one. But be careful – there was no year 0, and historical record doesn’t put Messiah’s birth at 1AD… not based on the lifeline of Herod.

      And for the record? His name is YESHUA.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

