Day 13: The Spirit World – Pt 3

elul

‘Okay, now… Wait’, you say.  ‘There wasn’t a Spirit World Part One or Two.  Where did THIS come from?!?!’  Actually, there *were* two parts before this.  I just… sorta… um, wrote them in 2005.  EIGHT years ago.  Yeah, sorry.  Sometimes I do weird things.  Like this.

Fact of the matter is, a little over a week ago, someone inadvertently brought something up that I’d never considered before.  And after they brought it up, I’ve done a LOT of considering, on it.  And the question is, is it possible for a saint to be demonically oppressed?

sovrem-jivop-03 (1280x354)
exerpted from the phenomenal painting by Dehong He

That question brought me back to an old set of posts on my sidebar, to the two Spirit World posts I wrote, long ago.  I kind of wondered if they’d been written before or after 2003, as that was when I was 30 and got my calling… but they were written in 2005.  And here’s where I have to admit something kind of… painful.  Once upon a time, before 2003?  I was a chrischun.  Well… no, not exactly.  I was unhappy, searching for more, knowing that something was wrong, and desperate to find out what.  But at that time, I believed I was ‘saved’ and a ‘believer’.  I was completely convinced (as all christians are) that I was saved by the blood and therefore going to Heaven.  Even though I didn’t even know the Savior’s name, I was fellowshipping light with darkness unwittingly, and didn’t keep Torah – didn’t have any obedience… and of course faith without works is dead.  I didn’t know that.  I was wrapped in a horrific deception called christianity.  I thought works were the things Paul taught, like ‘make a joyful noise’ and ‘run the race’.  ((pfft.))

And that matters, because when I went back and re-read the Spirit World posts in 2005… I had to read them with the knowledge that it was a mere two years into my prophetic calling.  I was concerned that those posts were going to be completely laced with unTruth, because of my inexperience with unadulterated (by the church) Truth at that time.  But amazingly, Part One is spot on.  There isn’t a thing about it that isn’t completely true, amazingly.  A sign that it was divinely inspired, because in 2005, I would’ve still been pretty ‘indoctrinated’.

Reading Part 2 was harder for me.  The thing is… Before 2003, I experienced some severe spiritual (read: demonic) oppression. I’d experienced some terrifying things.  I wrote about them in ‘Spirit World: Part 2’, in 2005, and so I won’t go into it here, again.  Things happened when I was a child, when I was a teen… in every house my family had, and even in our house when I married Brian.  My experiences were vast in that realm… too much so.

But I said something the other day that… when the words came out of my mouth, it stunned me.  I said, “All of the people I’ve read about on-line that have ‘wu-jo’ experiences, or things disappearing/ time changes/ things moving around… they’re all non-believers.  They’re freakazoids on Ure’s site.  Messiah-followers cannot be demonically oppressed“.  And as I uttered the words, I remembered my experiences.  Demons oppressed me when I was a christian.  I was not a TRUE believer, although I had thought that I was.  I was smugly, soundly in a place of assurance that was completely false… and I was being demonically oppressed.

angelAnd now that I think about it… NOTHING has happened in the eight years since I became a Truth-seeking Messianic.  I’ve had no experiences at all.  The only thing I’ve experienced was when a spirit came to the foot of my bed and took Rachel’s spirit from my womb… but that was different.  It wasn’t possession or oppression, it was a spirit on a mission, and it was the will of Yehovah, and I knew it as it happened.  But as for being wigged out or having odd occurrences happen?  They were over.

Consider the Bible.  Can you point out a single time a saint – someone Torah-observant and God-honoring – ever experienced demonic oppression?  Satan had to get PERMISSION to oppress Lot!  He couldn’t do it, otherwise!  Think about that.  I can’t think of ANYWHERE in scripture.  Lot was protected in Sodom.  Never is a righteous person oppressed.  Even Yeshua – when He was ‘tempted’ by Satan, it was a face-to-face encounter, not a possession or oppression.  If there’s something in scripture, will you please point it out to me?  Cuz I’ve wracked my brain, and come up dry.

I even went looking on chrischun sites on-line to see if there are instances in scripture of demonic oppression of saints.  ALL of them were unbelievers.  Legion, the demoniac boy, etc?  All non-believers.  And the verses they use to try to show oppression?  Every one of them was such a pathetic stretch… 1 Peter 5:8 – ‘your adversary the devil  is as a roaring lion, walking about, seeking who he may devour‘.  That does NOT say that a Torah-Observant Messiah follower is one of them.  1 John 5:8 – ‘the one who was born of God keeps him safe, and the evil one cannot harm him‘.  That in fact solidifies what *I’m* saying more than what they are!

And then they of course went to the armor of God, which… Ephesians 6:11 – ‘put on the armor, that you might stand against the wiles of the devil’.  Except that… and this something else that I should’ve addressed eight years ago, but didn’t… because at the time, I think I probably still bought into it, at least somewhat, at that point.  But we need to talk about the ‘Armor of God’.  And if you need a verse refresher:

Ephesians 6:10-18  Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord, and in the power of his might. Put on the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places. Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand. Stand therefore, having your loins girt about with truth, and having on the breastplate of righteousness; And your feet shod with the preparation of the gospel of peaceAbove all, taking the shield of faith, wherewith ye shall be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked. And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God: Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saints;

Now I don’t know how immersed you are in church teaching about spiritual warfare, but there are large groups who will tell you that you have to ‘pray for the Lord to put this armor on your spiritual body’ in times of warfare, so that you are ‘girded’ to fight, to ‘stand against the wiles of the devil’.  I shit you not – when I was a teen, I would pray/put my armor on every single day, imagining in my mind as I did it that I was putting on this armor.  You hear chrischuns telling you to ‘gird up’ or ‘armor up’.  And it’s THE biggest load of crap, freakin’ ever.

First, have you been saved by the blood and water of Messiah?  Do you only claim to be when you’re ‘armoring up’?  Is it a knowledge, a state of being?  If it’s a state of being, do you have to ‘put on’ the helmet of salvation, or are you ALWAYS saved?  C’mon!  How about the shield of faith – do you only have faith about your person when you’re in trouble?  Or Truth… do you only bother with Truth when you’re facing tribulation?  I’m sure Abraham and Lot only were girded with righteousness on special occasions.  WHAT. THE. HECK?!!  How stOoOoOpid is this!  This is a metaphor, a literary expression of a physical truth – that when you take up a life in Yehovah, you take up these things… and they’re your way of life!  You are standing against the wiles of the evil ones just by residing in Ha’Shem in faith and obedience!  This is a metaphor, trying to illustrate simple truths, distorted by the ‘church’, yet again!

And I bought that crap about having to put it on, every day!  What lies!!  It sickens me to think of it.  Mentally picturing myself putting on an armor, to try to assure myself that I was protected when I wasn’t.  Thinking I had the belt of Truth when I didn’t.  Like conjuring an image in my head did anything at all!  What the heck!  I hate the church, I really do.

So I had to write an addendum – a part three – to the spiritual thing.  Because I think there is some major serious BS out there about spiritual oppression and ‘girding up’, and I wanted to be sure I addressed it.  Even if it’s eight years later.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Is Job considered a saint? Even still Satan needed to ask first there too. And you know Job never complained that he needed armor either. The armor thing to me, seems steeped in mysticism. You know why? Those involved in the occult or even pagan new-age do a similar mental exercise. Shamanic ministry (yes such a thing exists) calls it psychic armor or psychic protection. Protective circles and bubbles and shields, mental blocking… potions and holy water. It’s all the same thing. Are we called to be mystic shamans, still so detached from our Lord and limiting Him so much that we have to constantly ask for help from some mysterious attack and cower in fear? Or should we stand fully confident in the light, knowing who is in control. Should we give all the power to Satan and claim everything bad in the world as coming from him? (seriously you have a cold.. it’s Satan’s fault..as opposed to germs the Lord created???) Or should we keep our focus on Him?

    It reminds me of a quote from a film ”60% of the time it works every time…” people who ‘armor up’ are in effect saying they are not already given the gift of armor or are only wearing half of it or have holes in it that need to be mended constantly. People have a lack of faith. The Israelites wanted an idol to worship so that they had an object to *see*, christians need a photograph of ”jesus on a cross” that looks just like them so they can *identify*, and likewise people need talismans, and imaginary armor so that they can sooth psychological *lapses* and stumblings in their faith or their tendancy to be afraid.

    We’ve both had experiences in a home growing up. I certainly was afraid but never asked for some kind of armor. I tried to be bold in faith and live my life. We really give some things too much power they don’t have. Lastly though here’s some food for thought.. if we are already saved and awash in Messiah does this mean that we cannot still observe bad things around us but just not effecting us? There is still a lot of things people don’t understand, but I think that if we could throw aside the bonds and limitations of fear that we create for ourselves it would be a great benefit in our spiritual journey.

    Reply
  2. yay – I was hoping you would get back to this! I sent an email- because the stuff I was going to put was too lengthy but I think you will find it interesting. I am not much of an evangelist or missionary or caster out of demons.
    Have I been under spiritual attack? YES! But it like you say is/was because of my own stupidity!
    Here is a tiny portion of the study :
    But is it possible we do ourselves and our Covenant Partner in Heaven a disservice if we too readily focus our attention and our energies on Ha-Satan and fallen angels rather than our great and awesome God? The moment we shift our focus from the Holy One and His loving instructions for life to Ha-Satan and the realm of death, I believe we begin to lose ground in the warfare of life.

    I do not, you see, believe for a second that Ha-Satan is our worst enemy. I know that sounds funny. But have you ever considered the fact that our Covenant Partner in Heaven created Ha-Satan? And have you considered the possibility that the Holy One did not make a mistake in doing so? Have you ever considered the possibility that the Holy One created Ha-Satan foreknowing that Ha-Satan would become the “prosecuting attorney” who would accuse us and prosecute us in the Holy One’s Heavenly courtroom for violations of Torah?
    —-
    me again : Job was not having his life destroyed because he was hated or under attack – satan was trying to prove that Job only loved the Lord because he was blessed and because Job didn’t waiver in his faith – none of the accusations stuck! sure he didn’t understand what was happeneing – yes he was angry (at his own lack of understanding!) but in the end he was aquitted.
    Nice eh?
    \(-.-)/

    Reply
  3. I just realized a signifigant spiritual truth. Wish I could unrealize it. I haven’t considered every aspect of it yet – however let me toss it out there and see if you have any imput. Or your readers. I will give a glimpse here and maybe expond on it when I get a minute on my page.

    So spiritual attack. Personally I am not affected – but what did you say back in part one?
    :..the goal is to grieve God. We’re just pawns, not the goal. The goal is getting to God. How do you inflict pain? Go for the children of the person you want to hurt.”
    I was thinking not just children infact children and not a very good target because they have not reaced the age of acountability – but if people you love are being led astray it does hurt. And it is also promised right there in Matthew 10:34-37 “Do not think that I have come to bring peace to the earth. I have not come to bring peace, but a sword. For I have come to set a man against his father, and a daughter against her mother, and a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law. And a person’s enemies will be those of his own household. Whoever loves father or mother more than me is not worthy of me, and whoever loves son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

