Snapshot Sunday

We’ve Gone to the Zoo, Zoo, ZOO!

It’s been a busy spring!  We have a zoo membership to John Ball Zoo in Grand Rapids that expires mid-June, so we’re trying to get a visit in to ALL of the zoos we can manage, before the membership is up.  A daunting task, because our JBZ card allows us in Potter Park Zoo, Detroit Zoo, and JBZ for free, and into Binder Park Zoo for half-price.  That’s four zoos… FIVE if we manage to hit the Milwaukee Zoo when we go to Wisconsin on our big adventure trip!  Datta lotta zoooooos!

Believe it or not?  We’ve gotten three of the four in Michigan done, already.  Yeah, we’ve been out n’ about!  So (before I attempt to catch up with myself on hiking posts), I thought I should do some snapshots from our zoo visits as a ‘Snapshot Sunday’.

✿♥✿´¯`*•.¸✿ John Ball Zoo ✿´¯`*•.¸✿♥✿
(Grand Rapids, MI)

Everyone loves penguins!

There’s a joke in our family… once when Isaac was little, he came to this baboon exhibit and warned Lydia,  “He’ll rip your face right off of your face!”  So whenever we see the baboons, we all laugh and warn each other than ‘He’ll rip your face right off your face!”  People standing nearby probably think we’re crazy.  We are.  But baboons are NOT nice.

This year we made it up to the new zoo extension… which is just a playground and a train to take you away from the new zoo extension.  So far.  It was okay, but nothing to write home about.

Observe my form, my grace…

IMG_0113 (555x416)

✿♥✿´¯`*•.¸✿ Potter Park Zoo ✿´¯`*•.¸✿♥✿
(Lansing, MI)


It was a BEAUTIFUL day for a trip to the zoo.

IMG_0166 (555x416)The animals were lively and playful.

   

 

 

 
…and very happy to have seen us.

✿♥✿´¯`*•.¸✿ Binder Park Zoo ✿´¯`*•.¸✿♥✿
Battle Creek, MI

 
Prairie Dogs gossiping about my boots, no doubt.


It’s a FB funny for my friends… my sandals have kicked the bucket.
So until I figure out what to replace them with…


Baby giraffe… this is their first weekend back outside!

IMG_0289 (555x416)
I couldn’t have asked for a better pose!


Leaf framing around a kangaroo… helps detract from the fence.


Binder is very anti-poaching… this is a cement skeleton,
used in their ‘Wild Africa’ park to educate.

We’ve had a fun spring, to say the least!

PS:  Which is my favorite?  Well, JBZ is the smelliest and most crowded, but it has the most to do, there.  ((Feeding budgies, the ropes course, the ZipLine, riding camels, petting stingrays and sharks and wallabies…))  Binder Park has THE best layout, and is amazing just for the atmosphere and scenery and hikes.  But  their layout isn’t spectator friendly, where animals are concerned.  I’d have to say Potter Park is still my favorite.  I like going to the others, but of the three?  I like Potter Park, best.

Save

Previous Post
Comments are closed.