_________ December 31, 2015 __________

Last Post of the Year

Chag Erev New Year Sameach!!  I’m pretty sure that’s NOT a kosher way to say it, but I really like the way the Hebrew language puts things in a different order.  “Erev” means ‘eve of’, so it works for me, even though it’s not the New Year for the Jews.  That would be Rosh Ha’Shana – the first of the fall feasts.  We are kind of stuck using the Gregorian calendar for so many things, we just bring in the ‘new year’ with everyone else… but it’s as fake as Santa or the Easter Bunny.  I won’t offend you if I say, “It’s one of those stupid Catholic changes that messed up Yehovah’s given ordinances”, will I?  Because I’m *stellar* at offending people.

Speaking of order, Brian and I fight about this ALL the time – because I learned in school using the metric system, because we lived in England at the time that we got to that stuff.  Brian learned in the US, so he’s die-hard Standard, and I… cannot wrap my head around it.  It’s quite possibly *THE* dumbest system known to man.  I hate it.  He insists metric is inferior by far, and I just don’t… that’s… !!!!!!!!!   This is something I deal with every single day – not just in the kids’ schooling, but when we fill out our date/weather charts.  Each day has the Gregorian date (December 31st, 2015) and the Hebrew date (20 Tevet 5776) on it… and I just LIKE the order that every other country – other than the US – uses, far better.  It’s easier on the eyes.  It makes sense.  It’s in order.  Y’know?  Maybe not.  You learned here in the states, too.  But it’s a HUGE bone of contention with me.  I think the standard system of measurement should be abolished.  No other country in the world uses it, anyhow!  (When Brian reads this, he’s going to go OFF on his spiel… just so’s ya know.  LoL!!)

What was I talking about…?  This already feels all disjointed and weird.  Maybe that’s just my head, today.  I didn’t sleep for bad dreams – something about being on top of a building and Isaac (my idiot) thinking it’d be fun to lay on his belly on scaffolding outside the window and set it to swinging.  Hundreds of feet off the ground, while starting to lose his grip.  I was terrified, had no idea how to stop him.  You’d think that I would’ve dreamed about houseguests having seizures after eating my dessert pizzas, but no.  My Jim Carrey son is dangling from a swinging platform.  You tell me – ‘cuz that’s just out there.  Litr’aly.

[NoTe:  Lydia had taken to saying ‘Literally’ after everything, and I couldn’t hear her say that without having that Horrible Histories Viking song pop in my head – ‘We’re going to chop your head off – literally.  We’re going to pull your arms off – literally.’  << Don’t ask.  Homeschool can be brutal.  Anyhow, I hated that, and she couldn’t seem to stop it.  But there’s this Tracy Thorn X-mess song (‘Tinsel & Lights’), and she sings, ‘New York martini – it litr’aly floored her’… So now we just all say that word with a British accent.  ALL the time.  /Tangent.]

I ended up inviting BFF over for New Year’s, yesterday, but she won’t come.  Doesn’t want to be here if we have other people over.  I wouldn’t mind… honest!!!!  In fact, I could use the camaraderie.  Frankly, I just don’t mesh with Rebekah, and it’s *worse* after the whole food thing.  Besides, they’re leaving early.

We actually texted quite a lot, all day long, yesterday.   We’re going to have a girl’s night out, this weekend, I think.  Grab some good food, do some chatting/laughing.   I’m thinking I’m going to drag her to GB Russo’s – if it’s open on New Year’s  – I’m trying to find a palatable mead.  We bought one in Frankenmuth a LONG time ago, and it was THE best drink I’ve ever had (next to vanilla Italian creme sodas).  Haven’t found a good one, since.   Anyhow, she introduced me to Mediterranean food, and it’s time to go back.  She’s great about humoring me.

Also, I have to tell you what happened – she’s an *Independent Woman* (< capitalized!!), as a lady who’s been divorced and living on her own for twelve years…  I admire the hell out of her.  But yesterday – in the midst of our off-and-on texting marathon, she CALLED my cell.  Said she was stuck in her driveway, and needed a push out, and wanted to know when Brian got out of work.  He was on his way out the door as she called, so I quick routed him to her place – just five blocks up the same road – and he was able to give her a shove out.  So my guy got to be a hero, yesterday.   Yay, Brian!!!   (((((I love him…!   *Sigh.*)))))  She didn’t mind him, so much, either.  Useful guy!

Well, the house is somewhat dusted.  Half of the baking is done – we worked on it, last night.  Holy STANK NASTY quinoa flour…!!!  That stuff is vile.  The package said, ‘has nutty flavor’… what they meant was that it stinks like burned elementary school paste.  GAH!  My kitchen was absolutely defiled, and that was THE grossest chocolate chip (<corn free chips) dough I have e.v.e.r. made in my ENTIRE life.  Not sure how I’m gonna eat it with a straight face.  Haven’t tried the gluten free brownie or pizza crust, yet – but I have sneaky suspicions that it’s going to be just nasty.

Have you heard of that psycho preacher, Rob Bell?  His mentor – Ed Dobson – died this past weekend.  Dobson denounced Bell, but in his obit articles in the papers?  That’s what he’s known for – mentoring Rob Bell.  Poor guy… what a legacy.  Anyhow, Dobson’s son took over when Bell went to Hollywood to be a celebrity god (ha.), and now Dobson’s son is leaving Mars Hill, too – and the reasoning has me totally captivated.  He says,

“I have always been and I’m still drawn to the very edges of religion and faith and God,” [Kent] Dobson said. “I’ve said a few times that I don’t even know if we know what we mean by God anymore. That’s the edges of faith. That’s the thing that pulls me. I’m not really drawn to the center. I’m not drawn to the orthodox or the mainstream or the status quo.  …I’m always wandering out to the edge and beyond.”

I wish I could pick his brain!  I wish I could talk to him about these things.  THIS is where I am, and really have gotten tangled up.  Going to that Mass… it was all rote and ritual, empty… pretty, but useless.  Ha’Shem doesn’t want vain repetitions, that much I do know.  The Messianics and traditional Jews are the exact same way – I went to that open house, and they were doing the traditional prayers over the menorah – ‘Baruch ata adonia elohenu malach h’olem…’ and I have to tell you, if I were the Almighty, I’d get sick of people saying the exact same things to me, over and over and over again.  That can’t be what spirituality is!

Whoops.  Got deep on you.  Sorry!

I have confession to make:  I collect symbols.  If I see someone using symbols or pictures on their blog, website, or FB, I steal them – cut and paste the stuff into a MSWord doc, for my own use, later.  I have a whole slew of ’em.  Check it:

HAPPY NEW YEARS
..\’\:’\’\::|::/’::/’/’
….’\’\::’\:|:/’:/’/’….,•’`¯`’•,
…..’\’\’\|/’/’/’…./……….._/
…….’\’\|/’/’…,.~~/=====_/
……..[||||]…..(_________)
……….||…..,•’`.._….._….`’•,
……….||…/…… (o)(o)` ……\
……….||..|………… …………..|
……….||…\…….\____/……./
……….||…..’•,_…………._,•’
………,||..,~•¯¯\\\\(@)//__
…..,•’`.||………..////\\\…….`’•,
…..’,…||………..////O\\………..\
..,•’`…,||•’`¯`’•,////…..\\…..…../
..’,_______,•’..///…..O…../…….\
…….,|.||………………………..\..….|
……/..||………….O…………………/
/’¯¯`’•,_||………………………../
_…..’•.___.~…’`…….,’•._,.•’•,_..•’
…..’•.__,.•’•.,_.,.•’……………

Just… cut n’ paste.  It’s fun, and makes people happy.  And you know how I am, by now… don’t you?  (You must.)  Anyhow, I have a huge collection of snowflakes, stars… lots of cute little things.  When it’s someone’s birthday on FB, I always whip out a birthday one, just for the occasion.  Makes things a little more interesting, don’t you think?  (I’ll bet you NEVER saw that snowman coming…!!!)

Okay.  I have to go sweep and vacuum.  Put together a photo frame for great-grandma.  Text a shopping list to my guy – I didn’t buy enough gluten/corn free Oreos, the other day, and we’re out of milk.  (I should milk our goats.  Someday.  Hrmph.)

Have a great year’s end…   Talk to you in 2016.

Comments are closed.