_______ November 15, 2016 ________

Thoughts & Things

  • I sometimes doubt God.  I need to not do that – if only my faith were as big as that proverbial mustard seed!  He blesses me, and yet I doubt Him.  How fair is that?  But it’s a week and a half to Hanukkah (the one-Adar version that we’re observing), and it hasn’t felt like it’s quite holiday time, yet.  So I cried out, this weekend.  Am I wrong to do this?
    space
    He told me to do Elul a month early.  He confirmed that Rosh Ha’Shana was where I felt it should be… the same with Sukkot.  10 and 17 Cheshvan both fell out on the [2-Adar] Jewish Sukkot – He aligned everything.  He Himself prompted me to start getting presents ordered.  And yet it hasn’t felt like time for decorations and music.  I doubted, and cried out.  When will I learn???  When will I just believe?
    space
  • This weekend (keeping on the same topic and covering the ‘confirmation’ part of things) we had a frost so thick, it looked like snow.  Then the fog moved in, and the air is white as can be – no snow, but it definitely has a ‘something’s in the air – it’s that time’ feeling to it.  And then Brian came home and said they’re predicting snow for this coming Saturday.  You see?  No reason to doubt, to waffle in my faith.  Praise Ha’Shem for tolerating me and sending affirmations, every single time.
    space
  • Yesterday (I’m posting this a day late) I didn’t do the on-line social thing, much.  I barely hit FB – just to post “Photo of the Day”, and that wasn’t until nearly 4pm.  I’m not feeling the internet thing today, either – except that I have all of these thoughts, swirling around in my head, and I need to write them out.  Hence this (post-dated) blog entry.
    space
  • Yesterday (which will read as ‘today’) was Field Trip Day!  I was thinking of doing a whole post on the adventure(s), but frankly I’m running out of room before Hanukkah… and I’m also kind of running out of gumption (where this blog is concerned at the moment, anyhow).  I figure maybe I can just talk about it, here?  Especially since there were like five parts to it, anyhow?
    space
    img_8909-555x416
  • First, we started off with a play.  It was a historical musical (!!) about Orville & Wilbur Wright’s invention of the first airplane, called ‘The Wright Stuff’.  It was hysterical, informative, and all the way around well done.  We were absolutely floored when they took the set pieces (workbenches, stools, ladders, toolboxes… all the stuff that comprised their ‘workshop’) and in exactly two minutes, assembled it all into a mock-up of the Wright brothers’ plane, on stage!  It was SO fantastic.
    space
    img_8924-555x403
    The only mistake I made was in getting there early.  I was nervous – we were the only homeschoolers at the presentation (three other public school groups sold out the show), and I didn’t know how we would figure in with the seating.  We ended up way in the front, because we were so early, and way at the end, behind the ‘workshop’ pieces and couldn’t see very well.  Next time?  We come in last and sit in the back.  The auditorium was so small, that there’s not a bad seat (seats maybe 150, tops?).
    space
    img_8932-444x285
  • The play was at the Gerald R. Ford Presidential museum, and our $5/ea tickets also included admission to the newly refurbished museum.   So we stuck around and did the Ford museum.  We’d done it several years ago (when we got admission seeing ‘Honest Abe’ by the same playhouse)… but the renovations make the museum SO much lighter, brighter, and easy to navigate.  I wasn’t sure if G.R. Ford was a good president or not when we got there.  By the time we were through it, I’d decided that he was a divinely appointed man in the right place at the right time to be honest, upright, and a leader of integrity.
    space
    Did you know he was NOT Nixon’s V.P?  The V.P. resigned because of tax evasion, and Nixon needed a replacement who was above board – the best man he could find, in order to counter the negativity surrounding his former V.P… and he chose G.R. Ford.  Then Nixon screwed up with the Watergate thing, and who was left to clean up the mess and keep the country together and strong?  Ford.  He had a horribly hard job, and NO time to do it in, but he succeeded, nonetheless!
    space
    img_8937-440x444
  • They’ve added a Space Museum inside the Presidential museum.  I don’t personally understand that – the Space Race came about under Kennedy, not Ford, but whatever…?  So we did the Space Museum, as well.  It was very well done – especially the Mars station.  We loved driving the Rover and trying to make it through the canyon before time was up.
    space
    The only snag was the public school groups.  I’m not sure why they bother.  There’s simply too many kids for them to try (or see!) the exhibits, and they’re just hustled from one place to another, with no explanations.  Mostly they just run around and mess with their friends… and shout so loud, we have to just find a place against the wall for the ten minutes it takes for them to pass us and LEAVE, so we can hear the exhibits’ information, again.
    space
  • Then we walked thru Ab-En-Awen park and across the street to the Grand Rapids Public Museum.  I planned our field trip to be on a Tuesday, so that Science Tuesday would be going on at the GRPM.  We went in September, but it was ArtPrize (and thus we had tinfoil hats n’ weirdness).  We skipped October, because it was halloween themed (and my kids don’t like scary)… so we thought we’d try it once more.  It just sucked.  No, seriously.  We won’t be going back.  It’s all stuff we do at home.  Nothing interesting and new.
    space
  • The GRPM has two new exhibits:  ‘Whales of the Deep’ (<< we’re waiting to go with Brian), and ‘Merry X-mess, Charlie Brown’.  So I thought since we were there (and have memberships), we’d try the Charlie Brown thing, and see what it’s like.  I… am far too imaginative and fanciful, you know this.  I thought there’d be big resin figurines of Charlie and Linus, Lucy and Sally, Snoopy and Marcy.  I thought maybe there’d be grown-up legs and the bottom of a skirt to the ceiling, and a button on the shoe that would make the grown-up go ‘Wha-wha-wh-wha-whaaaa’.
    space
    I thought there’d be thing for the kids to play with, maybe a big screen with the TV special playing on it, and maybe a mini stage where kids could put on shepherd’s hats (sheet pieces with ties) and pretend to be Linus giving the story of X-mess.  Maybe a ‘dance n’ wiggle’ station, where a simulation would teach the kids to do the different dance moves the Peanuts did in the show.  At least I expected to here the Peanuts’ theme song, and maybe ‘Christmastime is Here’ over speakers…
    space
    img_8946-444x280
  • There. Was. NONE of it.  It was just a room with Xerox-ed comic strips blown up and put in frames and hung on the walls.  That’s it.  Empty.  Nothing.  There was a small TV with a black and white documentary about the film, with clips of the president at that time on it.  And a toy piano in the corner, to plunk a finger on.  Out down the way from the exhibit, elsewhere in the museum, there was a Snoopy Doghouse with a big branch ‘tree’ next to it with one bulb, for photo ops.  That was IT.  SOOOOoooo disappointing!!!  Don’t go.  It’s not worth it.  I was… not surprised.  At least it was free for us.  ((<< Sad statement!))
    space
  • Because of ‘The Wright Stuff’, the motivation to do an aviation timeline has come over me, and I’ve been working on that.  It’s nearly finished – I’ll share it when I’ve got it done.  The problem is that – like when I did the Robotics Timeline – lines are being blurred.  With Robotics, it was computers and robotics being mixed together.  This time, all of the aviation timelines seem to be mixed together with the space technology.  My timeline is going to be JUST aviation… for simplicity’s sake.  We can do a Space Age timeline, later.  If we want.
    space
  • I’m reading a book.  I don’t know why I picked it up – it’s not really my style.  Correction: I didn’t know why I picked it up, but now that I’m over halfway in, it’s bringing a lot of things to mind that bother me.  REALLY bother me, and that I’ve been thinking about a lot, lately, but haven’t voiced.  One thing seems mundane on the outset:
    space
  • “They were staying in a motel.  It was typical for its type: smelled of cigarettes, stale clothes, and day-old french fries.  The man at the desk was overweight and only shaved every third day, his white v-neck shirt yellow around the ‘v’, and gray chest hair caught in the low collar.  Sometimes his wife ran the desk – she was wrinkled, had goggle eyes, and looked tired.  They lived out back.”  <<<  That.
    space
    There are people like that everywhere I go.  Everywhere you go.  People who do the same tired thing, day in and day out.  They seem to have no desires, no passion, no dreams, no joi de vivre, do you know what I mean?  How can people LIVE that way?  Waste their years, that way?  Am I wasting MY years?  Time is so short… am I doing the most with it that I can?  And what really matters, in the end?
    space
  • The book is about torturing humans in lab experiments in order to merge mankind with machine.  It’s not a new topic, but the book is disturbing, because of the violence and description in it.  It’s a ‘Teen’ book, but if it were a movie, it’d be rated a hard ‘R’, and that’s after a lot of softening.  It’s one of those that I don’t want to read now that I’m into it, but can’t stop because it has to resolve.  Which takes me to the next thoughts…
    space
  • Just how evil was Noah’s generation?  We always see them as absolutely free of technology, as barbaric and primitive, but if they had demons and Nephilim teaching them technology and industry, were they actually further along than we are?  Did they reach supersonic speeds, did they have nano-technology?  Were there computers?  (<< Don’t look so surprised: we developed what we have in about 1000 years… they had the same amount of time, the same resources, and more help.)  Or did they not get as far as microchips and plastic?
    space
  • HOW DARE WE usurp the Creator the way that we do, today?  Have you thought about this?  We have the technology to give people bionic arms that respond to brain stimulus.  I’ve seen articles where we can actually do arm transplants – take the arms off one person and connect all of the nerves, vessels and muscles so that the person they’re grafted on can USE THEM.  It’s new, but they’re doing it successfully.  This is real life, now.
    space
    We bring someone back FIVE TIMES when Ha’Shem smites a person with repeated cardiac arrests, when He decides it’s the person’s time to go.  We play God and decide to override His decisions and extend the person’s life.  We can DO these things, and we don’t even blink.  You know this, right?  It’s a stupid book – we can’t transplant memories and personality to robots… right?  Except that it’s not such a stretch from where we are, at this point.
    space
  • WHAT must the Creator think?  We’ve set ourselves up as gods, and pushed His decisions aside for our own.  (What really gets me is when the people usurp Him and say, “Praise Gawd, it’s a miracle!!”  What a slap in the Creator’s face!  Not only do they decided – over Him! – who lives and dies, they pretend to have His stamp of approval?!
    space
    And I’m not sure where I stand on these issues, anymore.  I’m not sure that our ability to  ‘do wonderful things’ is so wonderful.  I’m becoming afraid of just how ANGRY I suspect the Creator is.  I’m beginning to wonder how far is too far.  And why He is putting up with all of this from us.  He’s opened the ground and devoured His own chosen people for less blatant, flagrant acts.  How can He hold off, the way He is?  And just how horrific will be the consequences when He does take us to task for our insolence?
    space
  • I just see all of this… wrongness around me, and I can’t even decide if it IS wrongness… for example, field trips for public school kids.  Is it such a waste?  Lives that are lacking in scope or dreams… what’s the point, and am I missing it?  Technology… are we usurping God, or is His will in this quest for human control of everything?  I don’t know, anymore.
    space
    But I do know that in the small things?  I see Him.  He’s here, He’s real.  He sends money from the most unexpected places just when we need it.  He puts us in the right places to see just the thing we need to see.  And I can be glad of what I see in my life, even if I’m leery of what I see out there, y’know?

I’m just… thinking out loud, again…

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

