´¯`•. March 08, 2017

When God Ate

In our school-day Bible readings last week, we studied this passage:

And the Lord appeared unto him in the plains of Mamre: and he sat in the tent door in the heat of the day;  And he lift up his eyes and looked, and, lo, three men stood by him: and when he saw them, he ran to meet them from the tent door, and bowed himself toward the ground,  And said, My Lord, if now I have found favour in thy sight, pass not away, I pray thee, from thy servant:  Let a little water, I pray you, be fetched, and wash your feet, and rest yourselves under the tree:  And I will fetch a morsel of bread, and comfort ye your hearts; after that ye shall pass on: for therefore are ye come to your servant. And they said, So do, as thou hast said.

And Abraham hastened into the tent unto Sarah, and said, Make ready quickly three measures of fine meal, knead it, and make cakes upon the hearth.  And Abraham ran unto the herd, and fetcht a calf tender and good, and gave it unto a young man; and he hasted to dress it.  And he took butter, and milk, and the calf which he had dressed, and set it before them; and he stood by them under the tree, and they did eat Genesis 18:1-8

Two weeks ago, I heard that Brian’s aunt (who is pushing 60) has been diagnosed as allergic to gluten and lactose intolerant.  This woman has eaten bread and drank milk all of her life.  So it kind of flummoxes me, how all of a sudden she can be allergic to these things.  I’d say maybe it was an age-related thing, but there are a TON of children who are lactose intolerant, and gluten-free.  My cousin’s wife/kids are all… well, purported to be that way.  I have a lot of friends that are being ‘diagnosed’ that way, too.

The problem I run into is that… this whole vegan, vegetarian, gluten-free, lactose-free thing that everyone has going now?  It doesn’t jive with scripture.  GOD ate.  Did you know that?  Here we have God coming to visit Abraham.  What did Abraham serve him?  Bread… that’s got gluten in it.  Butter and milk – that’s lactose.  Calf meat – that’s beef.  And we’re not just talking lean meat – we’re talking ‘tender’ – or fatted/soft portions.    So all of these people who claim these new ‘trends’ are ‘healthier’ or better or ‘what they need’?  I know this is going to get me in trouble, but I have a problem with it.

Something is WRONGThere’s something wrong in the world.  People left and right are having this gluten thing (which I read this morning had a symptom of lactose intolerance, so they’re apparently connected?).  And it’s not right.  If God came here and ate ‘tender’ beef,  drank milk, and had bread… wouldn’t that be a sign of what we should eat?  And yet, these are the things more and more and more people are becoming ‘allergic’ to.  Something is wrong.

And people say, ‘Oh, it’s the GMOs and the pesticides and this and that…’ but the fact is, there were more pesticides in the 80s than there are, today.  More food is organic and ‘whole’ today than ever before.  There are labels on the milk about how the farms aren’t pumping the cows full of the stuff they used to.  Gluten has *always* been in bread, just as milk has *always* been a staple of meals.  And you didn’t hear about whole portions of society being gluten-free or lactose-intolerant.  And this is a BIG thing, now!

If it were bad to have fatted meat, milk, butter, and bread?  God would’ve had a salad, a glass of lemon water, and pancakes made out of banana mash.  (Saw that on-line, too.  Wtheck?!?!?)  He would’ve avoided the grains, the meat, the fat, and the lactose.  But He didn’t.

I don’t know… I’m just venting frustrations out loud.  But it seems that in these days – which are, indeed the last days, weird things hare happening.  And I totally don’t get it.  I just don’t.  God ate it.  He didn’t say they were bad or unhealthy.  He led the people into a place where the ‘MILK’ and honey flowed, where there was ample grazing for their livestock.  These things are what Israel ate.  They weren’t gluten-free, vegetarian, vegan, or lactose-intolerant.

And because we are?  I strongly suspect there’s something afoot in the world that we should be asking questions about.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Natasha Ann

     /  February 27, 2017

    I was recently diagnosed as Celiac, as is my son and all of my siblings. I could write quite a list of the relatives on my mom’s side who have this auto-immune disorder. It is a tricky one to diagnose, because if your blood test comes back negative, the testing usually stops there. My blood test has been negative for years, and since I had my first baby (or in high school) I have suffered Celiac symptoms. I was told I had IBS, that the dry patches on my skin were KP, that the sore throats I developed each time I drank milk was a coincidence. I could go on and on and on. I finally had to request a scope and biopsy, and the dr said (I heard him through the anesthesia haze) that my villi ( hair like structures that help absorb the nutrients from our food) were flat like a cobble stone street.

    It is not an allergy, but an autoimmune disorder, and if you have one autoimmune disorder you are likely to have others ( like the lactose intolerance). I have a sun sensitivity and need to take a steroid at the beginning of summer or warm weather vacations.

    My own personal theory is that as the human race has grown, so has this autoimmune disorder, being passed down through generations. It takes the average person 10 years now to get a proper diagnosis, and I am proof of that. I also think bleaching our flour hasn’t been good, and (a big one) people are choosing to eat GF AS A FAD. Some get thin cutting out those carbs… but GF BREAD and products contain more sugar.

    Already, I have been at restaurants and been asked if I am gf by choice or allergy. I say neither, I am Celiac, and if I wNt to avoid any and all cancers from the stomach to the bowel, I cannot eat that stuff.

    I am not telling you what you wrote is wrong. I agree with parts of it. I just someone a God made who can’t eat gluten.

    Reply
  2. Celiac if a confirmed disease is a real disease and legit. It’s an auto-immune disease not an ”allergy” or even ”intolerance”. Which means the immune system is in hyperdrive, and feels seemingly normal stuff is a threat. It’s working but TOO much. But that has to be strongly contrasted with people who self-diagnose, have no confirmation of the disease, or believe themselves to be trendy or have convinced themselves that gluten is the catchall for their poor health. And there’s unfortunately tons of people running around like that. Any good Gut doctor will you that. 😉 They will also tell you that problems involving the gut are on the rise – gut bacteria inbalance, IBS/IBD, Chrons, trouble with the pancreas. It’s even affecting our pets! All of it can cause problems. For me as a baby I was allergic to milk, it made me pretty sick and I failed to thrive. So it was soy formula for me. Now as an adult, I can’t stand the taste of milk. Drinking straight milk is doable but has undesired gut effects afterwards. I wouldn’t call it 100% lactose intolerant, because I can eat other things containing milk without too much of a problem. So what is the problem with me? Who knows. But I do have a theory, at least when it comes to gluten and the gut. While it’s true there are less strength of toxic chemicals sprayed on food compared to older days, we are still spraying them and being exposed in other ways. Look at a baby’s blood or DNA and you will find hundreds upon hundreds of traces of chemicals (wonder why cancer is going up?). And this is passed on to our children and so forth. This exposure isn’t good and for some causes the body to react in different ways to learn differently or ‘evolve’ if you will. When you look at the text in the Bible, while our body structure is relatively the same – you can’t say that the modern body is 100% the same as those in the Bible – our food is different even that which is considered ”natural”, and we’re being exposed to anything. Everything eaten in those times is done the pretty old fashioned way. But what do we have now? Gluten isn’t just in bread, it’s everywhere. So is sugar, chemicals, artificals, and yeast. It’s mass produced in things you won’t expect. Our meat is laced with antibiotics and preservatives, our chickens are bleached and our wheat for that matter. Our grains and yeast are modified in ways they would not have ever been previously. What the cow puts into it’s body is significantly changed too. Ever wonder why we keep our eggs chilled and the rest of the world doesn’t? Organic doesn’t really mean organic these days either. The industry likes to fool people. Normal exposure to pure and ancient-unchanged substances like sugar, yeast, wheat, milk, and meat probably wouldn’t cause these issues back in Biblical times. But an over-exposure + chemicals? Is it any wonder why the immune system sees it as a threat or why hiccups or learned responses in the DNA change the reaction our kids might have to those substances? These reactions don’t always account for the actual disease of Celiac though – but the history of what we eat will account for all the rest. The closest thing to Celiac disease was noted by a Greek doctor about 2000 years ago, but it’s unclear if that doctor ever put 2&2 together or if he just noted that when a person ate something ‘rich’ it caused stomach upset – BUT we now recognize it by looking at the not normal changes to the villi in the gut and an overabundance of zonulin in the body and NOT a histamine response. Science still hasn’t caught up though, as to why one persons body may react one way, and another may not. Only 1% of America suffers from Celiac – the rest are making it up, confused, or it’s something else entirely. Try this recent study. http://www.sciencealert.com/scientists-who-found-evidence-for-gluten-sensitivity-have-now-shown-it-doesn-t-exist So why could He eat it, but some can’t? We messed with Creation. There’s consequences to that.

    Reply
  3. We live in a fallen world and the further we get from Eden the worse our bodies will become. It was quite common to live for hundreds of years and now we are lucky to reach one hundred. Genes have mutations and it doesn’t take long for a mutation to move through a population. In genetics class we learned about the ability to make a “clover tongue” was a recent development that is now fairly common in the general population. Add into the mix how much people migrate and travel vs the little bit from centuries ago and again a faulty gene would become more wide spread.

    The wheat used to make today’s bread is not the same wheat as the wheat used to make bread in Abraham’s (or any Bible person’s) time. Many who cannot eat today’s wheat have better luck with the older, ancient traditional Einkorn wheat. It is somewhat the same with milk – though there are two different ways to try that. For some it is the pasteurization & changes in protein shape from the heat that cause problems and raw milk helps. For others it is the casein in the milk. This article does a good job explaining the differences:

    https://philmaffetone.com/casein/

    Though I think you already did a post about that didn’t you?

    Sheep & goats have different proteins too. I have a friend who cannot drink cows milk but can drink goats milk just fine.

    Then consider the command not to cook a youngster in it’s mother’s milk – if they were eating beef wouldn’t the milk be goats?

    Several of my kids have lactose intolerance that developed as they’ve grown older. They can drink milk it just produces unpleasant side effects like gas & Imodium moments. 🙂 They can eat fermented products just fine: yogurt, milk keifer, cheese. In a warm climate without modern cooling these fermented products would be very common so a land flowing with milk (sheep & goats) would still be a huge blessing.

    I also have a friend whose children have officially diagnosed Celiac – she’d try the older grains but it’s pricey in our area. She also has a son with autism and for many with autism wheat acts just like heroin. With little ones still abounding & autism it’s easier to shift everyone to other grains than experiment with pricey grains. Oddly enough we were just discussing this because as they get older she would like to add wheat back – for those who can eat it – but it’s a challenge. The ease of any old bread off the shelf is years away for her! But in the discussion we also talked about those who are “trendy” anti-gluten. It makes it hard for those with real health issues to be taken seriously but because it’s trendy the gluten free products have become easier to find and cheaper too.

    I think that wherever our ancestors came from is helps determine the kind of diet our bodies tend to need for health. If your ancestors where from Norway where short seasons meant fruit was berries, some fast growing grains like barley or rye, meat, milk and fish then that is what will be healthier for you. If your ancestors were more tropical then lots of fruits and fish with very little beef or dairy. Those in more temperate areas had more choices so their decedents have more choices. I think this because if someone could not stay alive & healthy on the foods readily available where they lived then they died before having children or their children where weaker & died. Only those who could be healthy on the local food could have children who lived to have children etc. Most Americans whose families have been here for ages have a pretty mixed ancestry so what is healthy eating can get confusing.

    I have one family member whose family is paleo and another whose family is vegan while I am natural – could I raise or grow this myself if I chose to do so. None are adamant hard core mean but I do try to accommodate. I’ve seen the good weight loss results from both the paleo and vegans and their better health too. So I don’t have a pat answer other than we live in a fallen world which gets worse every day and that worse is in every aspect including diet. If you are miserable & sick stuck on the toilet it makes it kind of hard to do anything else – except maybe pray for relief. Sometimes I wonder if that is the health concern Paul had. 🙂

    Reply
  4. See, this is what I mean about not understanding how this can be. If only 1% of the people really have Celiac’s and/or are actually gluten intolerant, how can *EVERY* person I know be the 1%? Of the commenters, we have Natasha, her son, her siblings, my BFF’s sister, Stephanie’s friend, my cousins’ kids, three other blogger friends I have, and six more people on my FB list. I even had a penpal who was food intolerant.

    This is pretty much the equivalent of everyone I *KNOW*. It’s not possible. Something’s *wrong*. And I don’t get it. I really, really don’t. The figures don’t add up. The facts don’t line up. I have problems with this…

    Reply
  5. I cannot speak for everyone you know Anna, as I don’t know if they have been officially diagnosed by a GI doctor in the appropriate settings and I would not want to imply that it’s ”all in their head” either of course. Natasha above seems to have confirmation of Celiac from test results (the changes to the villi is an important hallmark of the disease). But every good GI doctor will admit that there are a ton of people out there that *think* they are gluten intolerant (which is NOT Celiac disease) – and these ideas will never be medically conclusive. They have no structural changes nor do they have any conclusive histamine findings to prove an allergy. Science hasn’t fully caught up. There are theories of course. DNA, cell, and genetic mutations can be passed on to offspring – thus it is likely there are some people walking around that have a ‘pre-disposition’ to react a certain way to a certain food. I’d certainly think Celiac would have a common genetic marker. But that doesn’t explain the rest of the population that say they have an intolerance but have no medical findings to support having Celiac disease. For me, like I said drinking a straight glass of 2% milk has consequences lol. In addition if I frequently use MI Paste (for dental health) which is made from milk products I will sometimes notice swelling/itching of the throat. But as long as I don’t overeat products like cheese, yoghurt, ice cream etc I’m mostly okay. As long as it’s a fermented, skim, or even cooked product I have good tolerance. From a personal standpoint I know very few persons that have good allergy. My dad seems to be allergic to sulfa products/antibiotics, mustard, and mayo. His mother was so convinced he’d die if he ate eggs, she’d never fix them. Despite that as an adult he can eat eggs just fine – but if he ate mayo or mustard he’d need an emergency epi-pen. My sister was pretty allergic to anything growing up, went through allergy shots and now has an immune system like a tank. I have no other known food allergies except for they now claim I’m allergic to amoxicillin (I’m skeptical). So whatever genes my father has probably messed with us. I don’t personally know anyone with Celiac but my sister’s office does certainly treat them. Don’t know the % of persons worldwide but I have a feeling they might be even lower – Euro/Asian diets a very different than America. My only conclusion is that we have messed with Creation and changing genetics.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

