´¯`•. August 09, 2017

OT Timeline?

We were doing our OT reading this morning, and something caught my eye.  I had to post about it… because there are some interesting things, here:

So [Jacob] fled with all that he had; and he rose up, and passed over the river, and set his face toward the mount Gilead.  And it was told Laban on the third day that Jacob was fled.  And he took his brethren with him, and pursued after him seven days‘ journey; and they overtook him in the mount Gilead.  And God came to Laban the Syrian in a dream by night, and said unto him, Take heed that thou speak not to Jacob either good or bad.  Gen 31:22-24 KJV

I was just looking at this.  Jacob (God’s chosen) left Laban’s place secretly and without being seen.  He ROSE up, passed ‘over the river’, and set his face ‘towards the mount’.  The wording of this just resonated with me.  The ‘third day’ reference was what first caught my eye, but there’s actually a progression of events here that mirror NT (specifically prophetic) teachings.

Then Laban overtook Jacob. Now Jacob had pitched his tent in the mount: and Laban with his brethren pitched in the mount of Gilead.  And Laban said to Jacob, What hast thou done, that thou hast stolen away unawares to me, and carried away my daughters, as captives taken with the sword?  Wherefore didst thou flee away secretly, and steal away from me; and didst not tell me, that I might have sent thee away with mirth, and with songs, with tabret, and with harp?  And hast not suffered me to kiss my sons and my daughters? thou hast now done foolishly in so doing.  It is in the power of my hand to do you hurt: but the God of your father spake unto me yesternight, saying, Take thou heed that thou speak not to Jacob either good or bad.  Gen 31: 25- 29 KJV

Laban and his brethern are obviously the world, or maybe even more specifically the ‘rulers’ of the world.  Jacob’s world, anyhow.  They lie to his face, they make it sound like he was unjust and unfair, that they’ve been wronged.  It’s SO the way things are slanted today, too.  Isn’t the parallel amazing?  But the truth comes a little later:

This twenty years have I been with thee; thy ewes and thy she goats have not cast their young, and the rams of thy flock have I not eaten. That which was torn of beasts I brought not unto thee; I bare the loss of it; of my hand didst thou require it, whether stolen by day, or stolen by night.  Thus I was; in the day the drought consumed me, and the frost by night; and my sleep departed from mine eyes.  Thus have I been twenty years in thy house; I served thee fourteen years for thy two daughters, and six years for thy cattle: and thou hast changed my wages ten times.  Except the God of my father, the God of Abraham, and the fear of Isaac, had been with me, surely thou hadst sent me away now empty. God hath seen mine affliction and the labour of my hands, and rebuked thee yesternight.  Genesis 31: 39-42 KJV

The truth was, that Laban had blackmailed Jacob, cheated him lied to him, let him live in crappy conditions, and screwed him over financially TEN times in those twenty years.  If Jacob is a prototype of God’s chosen, it sure is an accurate picture, isn’t it?  More, we have Jacob ‘judging’ Laban on the mount, seven ‘days’ after he’d pursued him.  This seems SO much like a hidden timeline of events to me…  I’m going to be spending some definite time considering these verses, today…!

 

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

