¯`•. White Pine Trail Index

White Pine Trail Index

As most people around here know, this year we discovered the North Country Trail.  It being the NCT’s 40th anniversary, I thought it would be fun to hike 40 miles on the trail, in ‘celebration’.  Mostly…?  I just like setting goals and accomplishing them.

As of today (10/12/2020), we’ve hiked 58.5 and biked 82.5 miles on it… giving us a total of 141 miles, this year.  So far – there’s still time, after all.  Although with hunting season, we’re going to have to be a LOT more careful, continuing.  Still… that’s WAY more than I ever imagined we’d do.  And we did portions of it in Michigan, Wisconsin, and Minnesota.  NEVER saw that coming!  The Lord works in mysterious ways.

The segments that are trail, we hiked.  The segments that are paved, we biked.  And that’s what brought us around to the White Pine Trail.  One of the bike segments – Rockford to Cedar Springs – is also a part of the White Pine Trail.  Which begged the question, What is the White Pine Trail?

The White Pine Trail is an old railroad line that was converted to paved public path by Frederick Meijer (the department store mogul).  It goes from Grand Rapids to Cadillac, ninety-two miles.  It’s still a work in progress – some of it is not yet paved (but can be used, as it has a gravel bed on it).

Another goal for me!  ((grins.))

Anyhow, we’ve been alternating biking the WPT and hiking the NCT since August, every weekend.  And I intend to put up posts for all of the WPT adventures, as well as the NCT adventures… as soon as I finish with the WisMinnUp adventure posts, go back and finish Alabama, and then back-post St. Louis adventure posts.

My hope is that all of these – along with prophecy posts, meme posts, and feast/shabbat posts – will take me thru the end of 2020.

As for this post, though… it’s going to be an index of our WPT adventures.  For now, anyhow.  If I can get WordPress to allow me to edit code and make tables.  Which… it’s not looking good.  It’s not even taking my ‘enter’ commands, my ‘.’ spacers, or anything.
.

_____ Trail _____ ____ Miles ____ ___ Total Miles ___
Belmont to Rockford 8 miles RT 8 miles
Ann St. to Belmont 14 miles RT 22 miles
Cedar Springs to Sand Lake 10.6 miles RT 32.6 miles
Cedar Springs to Rockford 14.8 miles RT 47.4 miles
Sand Lake to Howard City 14.8 miles RT
Howard City to Morley 13.6 miles RT
Morley to Stanwood 12.6 miles RT
Stanwood to Big Rapids 18.2 miles RT
Big Rapids to Paris 12.2 miles RT
Paris to Reed City 12.8 miles RT
Reed City to Ashton 14.4 miles RT
Ashton to LeRoy 11.2 miles RT
LeRoy to Tustin 9.2 miles RT
Tustin to XXXX
XXXX to Cadillac

 

uPDaTe:  A kindly gentleman named Judson who works for WordPress has SAVED the day.  He’s amazing.  I’ve got classic back… and just shaved two HOURS off my day.  Praise the Lord for people who can show you hidden buttons!!!  And thank you so much, my tech friend!!

Comments are closed.