´¯`•. July 15, 2004

Bloggers in the Hands of an Angry God


I suppose you thought I would address the article I posted yesterday.  Maybe even “fess up” and give my opinion on it… sorry to disappoint you.  I post those articles for discussion, to get people to react to different situations, whether it be a man raising his daughter in a forest in Oregon or the concept of Lawyers not being treated by doctors, or whatever.  None of the articles are mine, so when people get angry with me, it’s not an issue.  I didn’t write it.


My job is to inform.  That’s what I do.  I post NoteWorthy News to keep you abreast of what’s happening in Europe, the Middle East, and our nation.  I post ForDiscussions to spark your thinking about different hot topics that take more space and more consideration.  I post prophecy to inform you of what’s foretold to come.  I post to inform… if knowledge is cancerous, then smite me with it – Solomon said that by knowledge comes wisdom.  Better to be knowledgable towards wisdom than a fool soaking in ignorance.  And that comment isn’t directed at anyone, so no high horses, please.  I merely wanted to state that I choose to be armed with knowledge, if at all possible.


Anyhow, what I want to talk about is God today.  Partly because of the moon phase, partly because of the congressional move to keep marriage from being defined… partly because of the terrorist chatter and articles I’ve been seeing pop up everywhere this week.  What do these things have in common?  God controls ALL of them.


Plausible scenario to illustrate:  If we believe that God is in control, then He would know from the start of time that this once God-fearing nation would sink into a state of desperate sin and ignorance.  He could easily utilize terrorists to *punish* those who defy His commands and deny His omnipotence.  He would be the choreographer to align the Congressional descision to be the day before Venus is in the crescent moon, a ‘high day’ for Moslems which could be the ‘sign’ to atttack.  He could easily orchestrate it so that one follows the other… and I am holding my breath all day today.  Just so you know.  Because when we met in Israel to tell them to concede land to the Pals, there was an earthquake that shook the WHOLE NATION of Israel.  When California had the gay marriage fest, there was a huge shifting of the plates and another earthquake.  You might not believe that’s God warning us, but I do.  And with yesterday’s bill…


Do you realize just how grave the situation is at present?  We are *ALL* sinners in the hands of an angry God (to quote Johnathan Edwards).  You – me – her – him.  God gave us His law, and we have broken it, every single one.  Think God will let you into heaven because you’re ‘basically a good person’?  Try this on for size:


I am the Lord thy God; thou shalt have no other gods before me.  How many of us make the focus of our lives our job, our kids, our selves…   Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image.  How many of us willingly see God as whatever we *want* to see Him as?  Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain.  Have you ever said “Jesus Christ!” or “OhmiGod!!”  Remember the Sabbath, and keep it holy.  Do you ever spend a Sunday and not think about it as being the Lord’s day?  Honor thy father and thy mother.   You don’t, do you?  You have been defiant, angry, frustrated with them…  Thou shalt not murder.  But Jesus said in Matthew 5 that if we are angry at someone without cause, is just as guilty as if he committed murder in the eyes of God.  1 John 3:15 says whoever hates another is a murderer.  I can name 5 people off the top of my head I greatly dislike (to put it nicely).  I’m betting you have your list, too.  Thou shalt not commit adultery.  But Jesus said in Matthew 5 that if we look at another person with lust for them, we have already committed adultery in our hearts.  Ouch, eh?  Thou shalt not steal.  Ever ‘borrow’ a paperclip from work?  Ever take the pen at the bank or checkout counter?  If not, how about James 4:17, where it say that if you know to do good and don’t do it, you’re in sin?  That’s – in essence – stealing from the needy by means of inactivity.  Yeah.  Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor.  This is also known as ‘thou shalt not lie’.  If anyone says they’ve never lied… they just did.   Thou shalt not covet.   Coveting is wanting something you don’t have.  Guilty… guilty… guilty…


Think of it as a test.  How’d you do?  Ten out of ten broken?  Still think you’re ‘basically a good person’?  Next to Hitler, maybe, but measured by God’s standard, hardly.  Get mad if you want – I didn’t write it.  James 2 says that whoever keeps the law but stumbles in one point, they are guilty of breaking it all.  When we break the law in our earthly judicial system, we are sentenced.  What makes people think we won’t be sentenced by God for breaking His law?  It’s not reasonable.  People say I don’t believe in God or a pending judgment.  If you were to stand on a train track and a locomotive was coming and you said I don’t believe in trains! would that keep you from getting hit?  Don’t be ridiculous!  One of my ForDiscussions was a Letter to a Skeptic… it pointed out that no one could disprove the Bible.  If they had, they would be infamous.  There’s nobody.


I am guilty.  Guilty of all.  I’ll admit it.  And you know what?  There’s not a damn thing I can do to fix the mess of my actions.  Nor can I promise that I will keep the law for the rest of my life without breaking it.  I’m a sinner in the hands of an angry God.  Just like everyone else.  And the horror is that we will stand before an angry God.  Whether we feign ignorance about it and deny it or not.  We’ll stand before a God who has said that homosexuality is an abomination in His sight – while we push for gay marriage.  A God who has said that Israel was His people and that they should have the lands He set aside for them – while we make treaties with the Palestinians and tell Israel to give up her land.  Guilty… guilty… guilty.  I felt strongly last summer that God had taken His hand from this country – so much so that I pulled the American flag (That said God bless our nation) from this site that waved here for two years.  Today… I believe God is going to begin His punishment.  And we deserve it.


The hope I have that makes all the difference in my helplessness is Jesus Christ.  God sent His son – His ONLY Son – to earth to live a perfect life and therefore be guiltless… because only a guiltless person could pay for the guilty’s sentence.  Otherwise, He’d have a sentence of His own to pay for.  But Christ was sinless, and took OUR SINS – past, present, and future, and died with them on the cross.  More incredibly, He rose, giving death no victory over Him… only OUR SIN died on that day.  By His atonement.  If we make Him our Master and Savior and serve Him. 


We have a choice.  Take our punishment by ourselves, denying Christ and giving Him no room in our lives for atonement, or running to Him and throwing our arms out, accepting Him and His gift and making Him everything we need.  That’s where I differ from so many people.  I choose to serve the only one who can take my punishment, my sentence.  I can do nothing of myself.  Only by Christ am I able to approach the Throne as an heir. 


And I’m asking you to make an informed decision:  as a blogger in the hands of an angry God… what is your choice?  Because even by choosing not to choose, you make your choice.  My header says it simply – you can take the blue pill and be ignorant… wake up in your bed and pretend you weren’t effected by this.  Or you can take the red pill – the atoning blood of Christ – and step into a reality that is a matter of life and death.  One that demands knowledge and truth and faith and strength.  And it effects your eternity.  I’m not by any means advocating foolishness… but for you to think about it.  The choice is yours.

12 Comments

  1. Anonymous

     /  July 15, 2004

    Do you have a post or explanantion as to how God created Adam and Eve, they had two sons and how the restof got here? It’s been a lingering question for me for sometime. Would love to hear what you have to say?

  2. There’s nothing to add to this one Anna. 
    I feel exactly like this.  Tonight I was going to write a blog about something that hit me at a recent Bible study about Jesus and how he viewed sin.  This has encouraged me even more so. 

  3. Can I ask you a question… does it really matter?  I could easily go over Genesis with you, but is it pertinent?  The reason I ask is because if it doesn’t have bearing in eternal things, is it something we need to put time into? 
    I will willingly do so if you still feel it’s something that you need in discussion with others, or whatever, but time is short, and I would like to tackle this question first.

  4. How very pertinent, and certainly convicting, even as a Christian.  Having grown up in church (and “knowing all the stories”), I think I tend to not take sin as seriously as it is in God’s eyes.  I think I needed the reminder!!
    Did I mention that my dad had the privilege of leading a couple to salvation at my sister’s BBQ over July 4th weekend?    Please pray for them, and my parents’ new church! 

  5. Anonymous

     /  July 15, 2004

    Guilty! 
    Formerly I believed that I was “good enough” to get into heaven.  This is a good thing because it helps me in my witnessing to others who believe they are “good enough”.
    The awesome truth of Christ’s death on the cross brings tears to my eyes.  He died for me, a sinner.  He died for all of us.
    He truly is my Lord, my Savior and I long to be with Him.

  6. Oh man, am I guilty. But I also know who my Lord and Savior is. I have made my choice.

  7. Impressively written!  And I really mean that. I printed it off, so I could study it more easily. So my statement is not just a fly-bye compliment.  It is an impressive and accurate post.

  8. Very well said.

  9. I am Guilty as charged.
    Well done Anna.
    Very well done.  

  10. You know, I had never thought of the crucifixion in terms of our sin being the only thing put to death that day. I *had* pondered the implications of Christ “giving up the ghost” on the cross – that He was fully in control of His life to the point of willingly letting it go.
    Articles like this are part of the reason I don’t just give up on catching up, but continue to read stuff written a few weeks ago…

  11. WOW. This is a reallly good post. I see that it is a few years old, but I still had to leave a note letting you know that it is really good.

  12. Anna,
    Great post!
    Many Blessings :)
    Ace