´¯`•. March 08, 2004

Who do You Listen to?

On Sunday, our Pastor talked about tolerance and false teaching.  And I am going to be blunt and harsh about the things I have taken away from that sermon.  I’m tired of hiding my meaning in carefully worded statements.

Enter ye in at the strait gate: for wide is the gate, and broad is the way, that leadeth to destruction, and many there be which go in thereat: Because strait is the gate, and narrow is the way, which leadeth unto life, and few there be that find it

My pastor made a very good point.  In our modern day age, people believe all paths lead up the mountain.  There are two paths – the broad, which covers an equally broad inclusion of beliefs, and the narrow… which “few” find.  Two paths – right vs. wrong.  Many vs. Few.  No grey area.

The second point he made that hit me hard was that the word ‘find’ in that verse means it’s actively being sought, not stumbled upon.  You may stumble upon this site, but if you aren’t seeking Truth, you will find nothing here except a bit of intellectual stimulation.  I’m sure there are those who would call me pompous for saying this, but it’s true: I have found the narrow Way, and this site is my way of offering directions to the same Way to others.  Now I’m well aware that there is no salvation apart from the Holy Spirit, and only those whom He chooses to open to Truth will recieve it, but my goal is to make this site a viable ‘door’ for Him to use to lead people to Truth.  And/or bring people further along the right path.  For just as there is a strait gate, there is a narrow way.

Beware of false prophets, which come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ravening wolves.  Ye shall know them by their fruits. Do men gather grapes of thorns, or figs of thistles?

A disturbing trend I’ve noticed is the ignorance of a vast number of my readers.  Forgive me if I have offended you.  Sheep’s clothing means they look like what they are supposed to be… or what your perception is of what they are supposed to be is.  Frankly, your perception sucks – you are looking for ‘the glow’ – the sweet, LUVVING, gentle, non-confrontational ‘c’hristian woman who focuses on fluff.  And you flock to her.  You read her canned blogs about peace and aiming to please God, and it’s exactly what your perception of what a Christian should be is.  I posted yesterday that I am scorned, ridiculed, gossiped about, given shit up one wall and down the other, and by “christians”.  And you chase after these very women.  Can you find figs on the branches of thistles?  Then why are you looking there????

Even so every good tree bringeth forth good fruit; but a corrupt tree bringeth forth evil fruit.  A good tree cannot bring forth evil fruit, neither can a corrupt tree bring forth good fruit.

I’m called the troublemaker.  The bad fruit.  The ‘unmentionable’.  As if I don’t know.  So why?  You come here… what for?  For truth?  Is that why you come to this site?  Because I’m amusing?  Fact is, I’m prickly.  I’ve never minced words about it.  I don’t hide who I am under a wooly fleece, trying to be what your perception of what a christian should be is.  I don’t need to – I stand by truth, and that means no deceptions.  I’m not perfect and have never claimed to be – the percieved notion of what a ‘christian’ woman is, frankly, is WRONG.  And deep down, you know it.  You don’t come here because you like me.  You don’t come here because of me, at all.  You come because ‘something’ keeps you coming back.  Take a wild guess what that ‘something’ is.  Do you think that ‘something’ would bring you back and prick your conscience if there wasn’t something for you here?  A corrupt tree cannot bring forth good fruit.  So am I REALLY bad fruit?  The corrupt tree?  Think about it for a moment.

Every tree that bringeth not forth good fruit is hewn down, and cast into the fire.  Wherefore by their fruits ye shall know them.

Do you think because she leads a Bible study, she’s a ‘good tree’?  Do you think so?  Look at Holly, and tell me, does her ‘position’ give her that edge?  Any edge?  By the same token, do you think that because she’s a pastor’s wife, she’s automatically a ‘good tree’?  Does THAT give her an edge?  She’s human – and she’s got an agenda… and it’s either to glorify God or self.  Broad or narrow.   Right or wrong.

Not every one that saith unto me, Lord, Lord, shall enter into the kingdom of heaven; but he that doeth the will of my Father which is in heaven.

Pastor said that we choose who we learn from.  You have a choice to listen to one person and shut out another.  Are you wise in your choices?  I sincerely hope you REALLY think about that.

Comments are closed.