´¯`•. August 01, 2013

The Other Dimension (2 of 3)

Three days ago (to you – I’m actually scheduled thru half of August with posts that are ready!), I posted about a ‘Grand Sextile’ that was in the heavens, that was supposedly going to be a sort of ‘portal’ between this world and another.  The kewl thing about this portal was that it was in the shape of a Star of David, with the earth in the center, and seven planets forming the configuration.  It seemed just too kewl not to mention… the implication being that it was another perfect set-up for the rapture.  And as you know, I’m sitting over here, waiting for the fulfillment of Revelation 7:9-end.  Which is the next event to happen before the Trumps begin and Seal Seven is finished.  Which – if the crop circle from FIVE days ago was any indication, would be by December 22, 2013.   ((We’ve had some amazing posts, lately, haven’t we?!))

Anyhoooo… it was kind of ironic that I wrote the blog about the ‘Grand Sextile’ portal on the same day that we read the Shabbat lesson about other dimensions and Elijah during our evening meal.  The irony that I’d been studying a portal between two worlds (the spiritual, and the physical) on the same day that we end up reading about a man who could see the two different worlds was pretty amazing.  But then, in our house, the spiritual world is a given.  It’s a part of who we are, what we do… and I’ll admit it: it’s my fault.  Before I came along, Brian was happily oblivious, like everyone else.  Now we’re fine tuned to watch for signs and listen for messages.  It’s a part of our daily lives.  And I know that’s not normal, but who ever said I was normal?  I’ve never been normal.

And I got to thinking about it.  Our lifestyle is extremely simple.  And I think that’s part of the reason why we’re so able to be in tune with the spiritual… because we don’t have the TV on, we don’t listen to radio, we don’t do the attached-to-cellphone (or even *carry* a cellphone!) scene, we aren’t a soccer-mom family.  We move at a different pace than most of society around us.  And I believe that that’s probably a good portion of WHY we’re more able to see the miracles around us… because we’ve slowed down enough to be able to catch them.  And we’re poor enough to be able to recognize them.  Which… sounds ridiculous, but when you need a new life jacket for Brian, and it’s a pretty penny to buy one, and then you’re driving down the road and see a beautiful red Neoprene adult life jacket in the ditch… well, there ya go.

We had the birthday party Sunday (in my time, we’re having it, tonight, but… nevermind).  It was an ‘Angry Birds’ themed party, and I’d collected a TON of big boxes to stack and set green balloon pigs in between, to let the kids try to topple in the yard.  But with the rain…?  Well, that wasn’t going to happen.  But here’s the miracle:  we were at Party City getting Angry Bird plates/napkins, and I’d gotten big, green paper cups.  When we got to the check-out, the clerk said, “These are ‘buy one, get one free’ today.”  Well, I didn’t want to hold up the line, so I said, “If you scan it twice, you can keep checking Brian out while I go get an identical one.”  So we ended up with WAAAAAYYYY more cups than we would EVER need… but they were free, what do you do?  And suddenly, with the rain, I had a brainstorm:  I could print little pig faces, glue them to 40 extra cups, and the kids can topple them indoors!  I was all set, and because the Lord foresaw our need before I even knew there would BE one!

I just… I don’t think of it as another dimension, per se.  But more of something juxtaposed over what we have here, that allows interaction at all times.  But there is some sort of barrier that separates, at the same time.  It’s hard to wrap your head around, isn’t it?  I think it’s because we’re on the wrong side of things:  we’re stuck within the rules of a physical world, while the spiritual are able to move in and out of the spiritual and physical.  I hate being disadvantaged.

But someday soon…!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Val

     /  August 1, 2013

    Honest question. What do you or your kids play Angry birds on? I thought you needed a cellphone for that game. Or do they play it on your computer??

    Reply
    • Lydia and I have Nooks and purchased N2A android chips for them. So we have Kindle, Nook, and GooglePlay capabilities. We play it on those, but the time we spend on those is limited to naptime. Mostly we use the Nook to either read (free books, no storage!), or for educational apps for school. But my after-they’re-in-bed indulgence is a game of TripleTown or Random Mahjong, and Lydia and I have worked our way thru Pudding Monsters, Angry Birds (she’s moved on to Angry Birds Rio), and Cut the Rope during naptimes. :)

      Reply

Leave a comment