´¯`•. March 23, 2003

Our Purpose

This is from this week’s home study lesson:

Take a sheet of paper.  At the top, write
“Here I am, Lord, use me.”  Then write words,
phrases, sentences, or verses that sketch out
whatever you think God wants your life to be about.

So… I’m bringing this here out of fun.  What do you think God wants your life to be about?  I’d like to see what input you have to add – it could be very interesting.  I’m starting to really think about this hard… because it’s not just what I think He wants my life to be about, but what He’s told me He wants my life to be about via scripture.  And that’s worth a little digging, don’tcha think?

  • Pressing toward the mark of the high calling
  • Not growing weary or losing heart
  • Throwing off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entagles… (Hebrews 12:1)
  • Wrestling with principalities, powers, and spiritual wickedness in high places
  • Let us fix our eyes on Jesus (Hebrews 12:2)
  • Running the Race
  • Fighting the good fight
  • Keeping the Faith
  • Preaching the Word
  • Being ready in season and out of season
  • Correct, rebuke, encourage; all with long suffering and sound doctrine (II Timothy 4)
  • Consider it joy when you fall into various trials (James 1: 2-3)
  • Obey His commands
  • Love the Lord with all my heart, soul, mind, strength
  • Submit to every authority instituted among men (I Peter 2:13)
  • Prepare your mind for action (I Peter 1:13)
  • Do not love the world or anyting in the world.  (I John 2:15)
  • Test the spirits to see if they are from God
  • Study to show thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.  (II Tim 2:15)

Kinda reminds me of this comedian I once heard… he said people think God’s a bunch of ‘Thou shall nots’.  But there are WAY more ‘dos’ in the Bible than ‘don’ts’… and if we’re busy doing the ‘dos’, we won’t even have time to think about doing the ‘don’ts’.

So… help me add to this list of do’s… what else has the Lord put before us as purposes to carry out?

Comments are closed.