¯`•. January 21, 2012

Free Music Theory Lapbook

I wanted to do a lapbook on instruments and their families, which is available already on-line here (LINK), thank goodness.  We’re doing that today, as a recap of what we learned at the symphony.  ((Did I mention tickets are $5 per person, all ages?  For the ballet AND symphony?!  Don’t you wish you lived in my town!?))  I’m so glad there’s already a lapbook out there for that – I don’t have to create one.

However, there’s a LOT more to music, and I wanted to do a lapbook of musical symbols, notes, solfege… lots of things.  Periods of music.  And I went looking, and the only thing I found were ten pictures of a lapbook someone else did (but never created a file for on-line).  So working off those pictures (and the list of things I wanted in the book, too)… I have created a lapbook for people to download for free.


Because this baby has SOOOOO many things in it, I have WAY more pictures this time.  Which is a good thing.  And are you liking that it’s green?  Well, holiday lapbooks are pink, and I thought we’d do the arts in green, for a change.

mus1
The cover!

mus2mus3
Page One:  Note values, Clefs, Symbols,
Solfege System (hand signs/names), and key names

mus7 mus4
The Solfege accordion… isn’t that kewl? And then
part of pg1 (the cover & folded accordion)
and Page Two at first glance

 mus5  mus6
The accidentals tri-fold, and lines/spaces booklet.
The Musical Periods timeline
has since been colored to make it more friendly.

I don’t know if I missed anything that belongs in here… I tried to hit them all.  Lemme know if I need to add anything, please.  And I hope that helps someone out along the line!

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Chris

     /  July 20, 2017

    I can’t seem to access this file. When I click the green button, it takes me to a keep and save page that says the information is unavailable. Can you help me? Thank you!

    Reply
    • It is thru Keep & Save, and I’ve contacted them and had the problem sorted out. I’m sorry about the inconvenience – I had no idea!

      Reply
  2. Stupendo!

    Reply
  3. Irma

     /  February 2, 2019

    I love it. My kids can’t wait to start putting the lapbook together. Thanks.

    Reply
  4. Remie

     /  April 16, 2019

    Hi the link no longer works.

    Reply
    • Keep and Share is a SERIOUS problem for me. If I don’t “check in” every three months, they close my account. I have used all the space there, so I don’t check in, or remember to check in. I’m sorry – I’ll contact them and see if we can fix that. It’s irritating. And yes, I could move the files to Google Docs, but Google is like an Asian carp – I try NOT to bring that into my world. *sigh!* Let me see what I can do.

      Reply

Leave a comment